RR »

Phillip McCallen elected president of TT Riders Association

Racing legend Phillip McCallen has taken the helm at the TT Riders Association.
Racing charity the TT Riders Association has appointed motorcycle racing legend Phillip McCallen as its new president.

During a career spanning 15 years, McCallen won numerous races at the Isle of Man TT, North West 200, Ulster Grand Prix, as well as victories in the British Supersport Championship. Not only did he take 11 TT wins, he is also the only person ever to win four races around the Mountain course in a week, in 1996. McCallen also took five wins from six starts at the 1992 NW200 and a staggering five wins in one day at the Ulster GP in 1996.

Now running a successful motorcycle business in Northern Ireland, McCallen has also taken on the challenging of leading the TT Riders Association. Quoted in the official newsletter of the TT, McCallen says he will be doing everything he can to help the organisation continue its important work.

“The work that the organisation does is a really important part of the TT itself and I'll be doing everything I can to help.”

McCallen follows an impressive list of racers as president of the association, including Geoff Duke, Mike Hailwood, Stanley Woods, John Surtees and Joey Dunlop.

The TT Riders Assocation, is a charity which provides financial support to injured riders and their dependants as well as looking after the comforts of the elderly and infirm. Membership is only open to former TT riders and the association currently boasts a membership list of more than 1,000.

TTRA secretary Frances Thorp said:

“We've got a president who is a real legend on the Isle of Man. Phil is a dedicated, enthusiastic and committed supporter of the TT and it's great to be working with him. He's already made an impact and I'm sure he'll do a fantastic job.”

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Road racing legend Phillip McCallen is the new president of the TT Riders Association (Alan Armstrong)
Peter Hickman won the Macau Grand Prix for the second year running on the Bathams/SMT BMW.
Glenn Irwin on the PBM Ducati at the Macau Grand Prix.
Glenn Irwin on the PBM Be Wiser Ducati at the Macau Grand Prix.
Peter Hickman on the Bathams/SMT BMW at the Macau Grand Prix.
Peter Hickman on the Bathams/SMT BMW at the Macau Grand Prix.
Peter Hickman in action at the 50th Macau Grand Prix on the Bathams/SMT BMW.
Michael Rutter on the Bathams/SMT BMW at the Macau Grand Prix.
Martin Jessopp on the Riders Motorcycles BMW at the Macau Grand Prix.
Michael Rutter and John McGuinness during the pre-event press conference ahead of the 50th Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix.
Michael Rutter topped the opening practice session for the 2016 Macau Grand Prix.
Action from the 2016 North West 200
Michael Dunlop on the Team Classic Suzuki XR69 during the Classic Superbike race at the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop on the Black Eagle MV Agusta at the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop on the Black Eagle MV Agusta at the Classic TT.
Bruce Anstey won the Lightweight race at the Classic TT on the Padgetts Honda RS250.
John McGuinness on the Winfield Paton at the Classic TT.
Bruce Anstey on the Padgetts RS250 Honda at the Classic TT.

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.