RR »

Australian Post Classic champion, Russell Fairbairn, is keen to ride

Fairbairn, a veteran of the Post Classic scene
Australian Post Classic champion, Russell Fairbairn, is keen to ride in this year's Isle of Man Manx Grand Prix.

Fairbairn, a veteran of the Post Classic scene is a five-time winner of the prestigious Phil Irving Trophy, held annually at the Island Classic on Phillip Island.

Fairbairn has won the prestigious Phil Irving Trophy outright four times; 2002, 2003, 2005, and 2006.

In 2008 shared the win with World Champion Wayne Gardner.

He owns and rides one of the few competing Cotton Rotax machines and also competes on a Harris frame Yamaha TZ 750, a Yamaha TR3 350 and a Yamaha TA 125.

In 2008 Fairbairn won the prestigious Australian Titles on the Cotton Rotax and has also won the Australian Titles four times riding his Yamaha TA 125.

He has also notched up numerous wins at the New South Wales Titles and still holds the 125cc lap record at Phillip Island, set in 2005.

In 2007, riding the Cotton Rotax he won the Forgotten Era 250cc class at the Barry Sheene Festival of Speed at Sydney's Eastern Creek.

Fairbairn, a wall and floor tiler from the New South Wales coastal town of Terrigal is the President of the Post Classic Racing Association of NSW.

Fairbairn says it is his goal to compete at the Isle of Man and is undecided between entering his Cotton Rotax or riding for an established team if a ride can organised.

“I've certainly got the runs on the board but appreciate the Isle of Man circuit is the most demanding of its type in the world,” he said.

“I'd like to make contact with any team who feel they could use a rider of my experience, riding a range of post classic motorcycles.”

Interested parties can contact Russell via email at: tile4u@bigpond.com.


Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Manx Motor Cycle Club Official Logo
Dean Harrison on the Silicone Engineering Kawasaki in the Senior TT.
Peter Hickman in the Senior TT on the Smiths BMW.
Guy Martin on the Honda Racing Superbike.
Jochem van den Hoek.
Dan Kneen celebrates with his team after sealing his maiden Isle of Man TT rostrum in the Superstock race.
Ian Hutchinson celebrates his Superstock victory.
Ian Hutchinson on his way to victory in the Superstock TT on the Tyco BMW.
Davey Lambert in the RST Superbike race.
A Sidecar narrowly missed spectators in an incident that was captured in a video posted on YouTube.
James Hillier on the JG Speedfit Kawasaki in the opening Supersport TT race.
Michael Dunlop on his Yamaha in the Supersport TT.
Peter Hickman claimed his maiden podium at the Isle of Man TT with a runner-up finish in the RST Superbike race.
Michael Dunlop at the start of the RST Superbike race on the Bennetts Suzuki.
Ian Hutchinson celebrates his victory in the RST Superbike race at the Isle of Man TT.
William Dunlop on the IC Racing Yamaha at the Isle of Man TT.
Lee Johnston on the Padgetts Honda Supersport machine a the Isle of Man TT.
Bruce Anstey on the Padgett`s Honda RC213V-S during Isle of Man TT practice.

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.