RR »

Every race winner from the 2009 TT to attend 2010 launch

Almost every race winner from the 2009 Isle of Man TT will be on hand to launch the 2010 event, it has been announced.
Fans will have a chance to mingle with race winners from the 2009 TT when the official media launch of the 2010 races takes place.

Superbike winner John McGuinness, Ian Hutchinson, who won a Supersport and Superstock race in the same day, Michael Dunlop, who maintained family tradition with a Supersport victory, Senior TT winner and reigning British Supersport Champion Steve Plater and Sidecar legend Dave Molyneux are all schedule to attend the launch.

Between them, those five account for every victory scored around the Mountain Course during the 2009 TT – with the exception of the electric-powered TTXGP event.

Also due to appear are Keith Amor, Gary Johnson and Manx favourite Conor Cummins – who all scored podiums in 2009 – as well as veteran Michael Rutter, who will be outlining his plans for the year.

Australia will be represented at the launch by two-times TT winner Cameron Donald, who is a favourite for victory this year after sitting out the 2009 TT with an injury, and Dave Johnson, one of the strong field of riders making their debuts at the TT this year.

In addition to hearing Moly talking about his plans for 2010, fans will be able to hear from his arch-rival Nick Crowe who, despite his own racing career ending after an horrendous accident during the 2009 TT, will continue his fierce rivalry with Molyneux this year. Crowe has launched his own sidecar team, and appointed Simon Neary as driver.

Although TTXGP is no longer part of the TT, clean emission racing continues in 2010 with TT Zero, and some of the leading teams will be on hand with their innovative machines to explain how they intend try and claim the £10,000 prize put up by the Isle of Man Government for the first 100mph lap by an electric machine.

The media launch will once again feature a chat show-style format, but there will also be team, rider and entertainment announcements from the TT organisers on the evening.

The 2010 TT Media Launch takes place at the Villa Marina in Douglas, Isle of Man, on Friday, March 19. It starts at 7pm and entry is free.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
John McGuinness is congratulated by Valentino Rossi after claiming victory in the Superbike race at the 2009 Isle of Man TT, the 15th TT win of his career (iomtt.com)
Seamus Elliott
Victor Cox will make his debut at the Isle of Man TT in 2016.
Shaun Harris at the Isle of Man TT in 2007.
Ian Hutchinson has been awarded the Torrens Trophy for 2015.
Josh Daley
Conor Cummins and John McGuinness remain with Honda Racing for 2016
Malachi Mitchell-Thomas and John Burrows.
Ian Hutchinson on the PBM Kawasaki at the Macau Grand Prix.
John McGuinness on the Honda Racing Fireblade at the Macau Grand Prix.
John McGuinness on the Honda Racing Fireblade at the Macau Grand Prix.
Action from the 2015 North West 200.
Malachi Mitchell-Thomas in action in the Senior Manx Grand Prix
Michael Rutter celebrates winning the 350cc Classic TT
Michael Dunlop, Bruce Anstey and Ryan Farquhar were the top three in the Formula 1 race at the Classic TT
Dan Cooper and Michael Rutter in the 350cc Classic TT
Michael Dunlop won the Formula 1 Classic TT on the Team Classic Suzuki
Michael Rutter on the Ripley Land Racing Honda at the Classic TT

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.