RR »

The World's Fastest Road Race

The Ulster Grand Prix is renowned for being the world's fastest road race. Last year, Conor Cummins,
THE Dundrod and District Motorcycle Club has decided to honour the riders that have hit the magical 130mph lap timing around Dundrod by presenting them with a 130 Club medal at the Ulster Grand Prix Bike Week (9th- 14th August) 2010.

Noel Johnston, Clerk of the Course, stated, “The Ulster Grand Prix is renowned for being the world's fastest road race. Last year, Conor Cummins, the Manxman, shattered the record lap timing by over 1.5 seconds with a record speed of 133.284mph.

“It was just phenomenal, we knew that John McGuiness's record could be crushed, but we really didn't think it would happen on Thursday of Bike Week. It really goes to show that all the action doesn't just take place on Saturday.

“Everyone was in awe of Conor, and to think that Ian Hutchison and Gary Johnson were hot on his heels to break his record, with timings of 133.232 and 133.129 respectively, was equally unbelievable.

“The Ulster Grand Prix truly lived up to its name in 2009 as the world's fastest road race and the Dundrod Club thought it appropriate and timely to honour those men who have achieved the elite status of the 130 Club. It will be incredibly exciting to see Conor return to defend his title and to see who else, if anyone, will join it.”

Conor Cummins said, "The 130 Club is a great idea, I'm delighted to be part of it and look forward to receiving my medal with great pride. The Ulster Grand Prix is one of my favourite international road races and I was overjoyed to get a win in 2009.

“I couldn't believe the speed on the circuit, the course is just fantastic, it has everything a road racer would want. It's a must in anyone's road racing calendar. I'm extremely proud of the title 'the world's fastest man in road racing', I always like a challenge and I'm looking forward to defending it this August."

Noel continued, “Before the Prix last year there were only three men in the 130 Club, John McGuiness, Cameron Donald and Raymond Porter. 2009 changed that with Conor Cummins, Ian Hutchison, Gary Johnston, Guy Martin, Bruce Anstey, Ryan Farquhar, Ian Lougher and Michael Dunlop joining the ranks.

“We are delighted to be the world's fastest road race and to witness riders breaking records but I am mindful we also have a duty of care to ensure that the course is as safe as possible for the riders and for the spectators by adhering to appropriate strict guidelines and regulations. Safety is paramount.”

Planning for this year's Ulster Grand Prix in August 2010 is well under way.

Noel Johnston concluded, “We were absolutely thrilled with 2009's racing. We were extremely lucky with the weather, with the rain clearing mid morning on the Saturday, to give us a fantastic day's racing. The crowd was absolutely spellbound as they watched the racing unfold.

“The Club intends to build on 2009's success and to make 2010's event bigger and better. This is a great opportunity to see international road racing at its best. It is fast, furious, thrilling and it is really and truly 'back by popular demand'.”

The 130 Club:

1 Conor Cummins 133.284
Dundrod 150 SBK 2009

2 Ian Hutchison 133.232
UGP SBK 1 2009

3 Gary Johnston 133.129
UGP SBK 1 2009

4 Guy Martin 132.725
UGP SBK 1 2009

5 Bruce Anstey 132.543
Dundrod 150 SBK 2009

6 Ryan Farquhar 132.402
Dundrod 150 SBK 2009

7 John McGuinness 131.717
Dundrod 150 SBK 2007

8 Cameron Donald 131.066
Dundrod 150 SBK 2007

9 Raymond Porter 130.510
UGP SBK 1 2006

10 Ian Lougher 130.409
Dundrod 150 SBK 2009

11 Michael Dunlop 130.343
UGP SBK 1 2009

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Conor Cummins member of the Ulster Grand Prix 130 Club
Conor Cummins has joined the Padgetts Racing Honda team for 2017.
Lee Johnston has teamed up with Ryan Farquhar to race a KMR Kawasaki in the NI Air Ambulance colours at the North West 200 and Isle of Man TT.
Alastair Seeley with the Tyco BMW he will race at the North West 200.
John McGuinness on the Jackson Racing Honda.
Michael Dunlop, Carl Cox, [Credit: Holeshot PR]
Michael Dunlop has signed for Bennets Suzuki for the 2017 international road races.
Michael Dunlop has signed for the Bennett Suzuki team for 2017.
Guy Martin, John McGuinness Honda Racing, [Credit: Honda Racing]
Guy Martin, Honda Racing, [Credit: Honda Racing]
Josh Brookes has signed to ride for Norton at the Isle of Man TT in 2017.
Dan Kneen has signed for the Penz13.com Racing Team for the 2017 road races.
Dan Hegarty won the TT Privateers Championship in 2016.
Peter Hickman will ride for Smiths Racing in 2017 at the international road races and in the British Superbike Championship.
Peter Hickman won the Macau Grand Prix for the second year running on the Bathams/SMT BMW.
Glenn Irwin on the PBM Ducati at the Macau Grand Prix.
Glenn Irwin on the PBM Be Wiser Ducati at the Macau Grand Prix.
Peter Hickman on the Bathams/SMT BMW at the Macau Grand Prix.

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.