RR »

Onboard view of the TT

Fancy a lap of the TT? Well now you can thanks to Dukes latest DVD
The 2009 Isle of Man TT produced the fastest racing in the event's illustrious history, with lap records tumbling as the world's greatest road racers did battle around the legendary Mountain circuit.

Thanks to the very latest filmmaking technology deployed by North One Television, incredible onboard action from around the legendry 37.73-mile course was captured throughout the festival, and now has been released on three separate DVDs.

Now, for the first time, fans can own all three volumes of TT 2009 On Bike Laps in one great value collectors' set. That's 12 laps of the TT circuit and more than four hours of white-knuckle action – all for the amazing price of £17.99.

The first disc features laps from the 2009 Practice Week with TT legend John McGuinness, TT winner Steve Plater and the ever-dramatic Guy Martin, posting average lap speeds topping an incredible 128mph.

Plus, we join three-times World Sidecar Championship team Tim Reeves and Patrick Farrance for a three wheel lap of the TT circuit.

Exceptional footage is captured by a variety of camera positions – looking up into the visor of McGuinness, seeing straight ahead from Plater's Honda and watching the suspension being battered on Martin's Hydrex machine from the low-mounted camera.

Disc two takes you into the 2009 Race Week, with TT sidecar legend Dave Molyneux, 2009 double race winner Ian Hutchinson, Martin once again and Mountain course regular Carl Rennie. The action comes from the Superbike TT, as Martin laps at 127.685mph, the first Supersport race, as Hutchinson romps to victory, the Superstock contest, where Rennie takes us around at more than 125mph on his 1000cc Suzuki, and the opening Sidecar race, where we join Moly on his way to a record-breaking 14th TT win.

This DVD is worth watching to see the spectacular closing speed of Bruce Anstey from Hutchy's rear-facing camera alone. Plus, volume two brings you a bit of history – the DVD debut of an on-board lap of the TT course filmed from an electric-powered bike. Viewers join Thomas Montano during practice for TTXGP, the inaugural race for clean emissions motorcycles, at an impressive average lap speed of 67.043mph. The forward-facing camera lets you share this historic lap - and the very first electric motorcycle spill at the TT.

The third disc features one practice lap and two racing laps from the Mountain circuit, plus an entire 2009 TT race. First up is McGuinness again, this time on the Supersport bike in practice. The camera on the back of the machine shows the outright lap record holder jumping out of his seat on the bumps and lets fans see exactly how close the riders get to the scenery – you'd swear he's scraping the hedges.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Billown TT 2009
Team boss Clive Padgett will continue his successful relationship with 15-time TT winner John McGuinness for a fourth year at the 2010 Isle of Man TT
Duke Video `TT 2009 On-Bike Collection (3 Disc)`
15-times TT winner John McGuinness, pictured during the 2009 Isle of Man TT, is one of the stars attending the London Bike Show
Conor Cummins has joined the Padgetts Racing Honda team for 2017.
Lee Johnston has teamed up with Ryan Farquhar to race a KMR Kawasaki in the NI Air Ambulance colours at the North West 200 and Isle of Man TT.
Alastair Seeley with the Tyco BMW he will race at the North West 200.
John McGuinness on the Jackson Racing Honda.
Michael Dunlop, Carl Cox, [Credit: Holeshot PR]
Michael Dunlop has signed for Bennets Suzuki for the 2017 international road races.
Michael Dunlop has signed for the Bennett Suzuki team for 2017.
Guy Martin, John McGuinness Honda Racing, [Credit: Honda Racing]
Guy Martin, Honda Racing, [Credit: Honda Racing]
Josh Brookes has signed to ride for Norton at the Isle of Man TT in 2017.
Dan Kneen has signed for the Penz13.com Racing Team for the 2017 road races.
Dan Hegarty won the TT Privateers Championship in 2016.
Peter Hickman will ride for Smiths Racing in 2017 at the international road races and in the British Superbike Championship.
Peter Hickman won the Macau Grand Prix for the second year running on the Bathams/SMT BMW.

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.