RR »

Yorkshire rider takes PokerStars Superbike race

Ian Hutchinson took the win in the opening race of the 2010 TT in a gripping Superbike race.
The delayed opening to the 2010 Isle of Man TT delivered an edge of the seat thriller as racing finally got under way around the Mountain course.

After a delay of more than three hours, caused by sea mist rolling in from the coast, the opening race of the 2010 Isle of Man TT more than made up for the waiting fans had endured.

The six-lap PokerStars Superbike had been billed as one of the most mouth-watering showdowns seen at the TT in recent years, and it lived up to the anticipation.

John McGuinness, the 15-times winner and outright lap record holder, Suzuki by TAS Racing teammates Bruce Anstey and Cameron Donald, the luckless Guy Martin and Padgetts Honda rider Ian Hutchinson were expected to battle it out over the 37.73-mile circuit for honours.

But over the opening laps there was only one man to beat - Manxman Conor Cummins on the McAdoo Kawasaki.

Cummins seemingly had the race in the bag and after a stunning opening lap of 131.511mph, just a whisker outside the outright lap record, had a commanding 21 second lead at the end of the fourth lap. However, Cummins stalled during his second pit stop at the end of that lap and saw his leading over the chasing Hutchison slashed to just 4 seconds.

He got out of the pits, but just minutes later retired with mechanical problems at Laurel Bank, ending his hopes of a first TT win and breaking hearts all around his native Island.

Cummins joined McGuinness in retirement. The Morecambe racer had taken an early lead on lap one, just 0.8 of a second ahead of Cummins at Glen Helen, but retired the HM Plant Honda at Sulby.

The retirement of McGuinness left Cummins to forge ahead with his ferocious pace. The stunning opening lap of 131.511mph, from a standing start, gave him an 8 second lead over Hutchinson with Martin, Adrian Archibald, Dan Stewart and Ian Lougher close behind.

Australian Donald seemed to be out of the reckoning after overshooting at the Nook and lost a lot of time, rejoining the circuit in 13th at the end of the first lap.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Ian Hutchinson passes Creg-ny-Baa on his way to winning the 2010 Superbike TT
Lee Johnston has teamed up with Ryan Farquhar to race a KMR Kawasaki in the NI Air Ambulance colours at the North West 200 and Isle of Man TT.
John McGuinness on the Jackson Racing Honda.
Guy Martin, John McGuinness Honda Racing, [Credit: Honda Racing]
Guy Martin, Honda Racing, [Credit: Honda Racing]
Josh Brookes has signed to ride for Norton at the Isle of Man TT in 2017.
Dan Hegarty won the TT Privateers Championship in 2016.
Peter Hickman will ride for Smiths Racing in 2017 at the international road races and in the British Superbike Championship.
Martin Jessopp on the Riders Motorcycles BMW at the Macau Grand Prix.
Michael Rutter and John McGuinness during the pre-event press conference ahead of the 50th Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix.
Michael Dunlop on the Team Classic Suzuki XR69 during the Classic Superbike race at the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop on the Black Eagle MV Agusta at the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop on the Black Eagle MV Agusta at the Classic TT.
Bruce Anstey won the Lightweight race at the Classic TT on the Padgetts Honda RS250.
John McGuinness on the Winfield Paton at the Classic TT.
Bruce Anstey on the Padgetts RS250 Honda at the Classic TT.
Dean Harrison on the Silicone Engineering Kawasaki at the Classic TT.
Bruce Anstey on the Padgetts RS250 Honda at the Classic TT.

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

Yorkie - Unregistered

June 06, 2010 9:18 AM

Nice to see Hutchy get the win! Feel really sorry for Conor Cummins he was riding the wheels of the Kwaka, local boy deserves a win. Bodes for a good weeks racing!! :)

sixtenths - Unregistered

June 06, 2010 1:51 PM

Congratulations to all who took part as much as the winners, limitless respect. Shame to see this silly pitlane limit interfere with the ultimate race on the planet.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.