RR »

Ryan Farquhar extends 2010 win tally with victories at Mid Antrim 150

Ryan Farqhuar says he endured his hardest ever wet weather race to claim a stunning fifth win in a day at the Mid Antrim 150 road races.
Flying Ryan Farquhar dominated the Mid Antrim 150 road races with five victories, including the prestigious Grand Final.

It takes the KMR Kawasaki rider's 2010 win tally to 38, and his wins at the 3.6-mile Clough circuit to 22, comfortably the highest in the 64-year history of the Mid Antrim event. Farquhar also now has the unique distinction of holding five lap records, including the outright.

Saturday's rain left racers contending with a surface that was wet in parts, damp in others and dry elsewhere, making tyre choice constantly tricky. Farquhar opened his account with victory in the Open race where, after leading at one stage by over 12 seconds, he eased back in the closing laps to lead Adrian Archibald home by 6 seconds.

Next up was the Super Twins race, where Farquhar was pressured in the early stages by fellow Dungannon man John Burrows. As the race wore on, the circuit, which had started fully wet, began to dry in places, but Farquhar, despite struggling for grip, was able to edge clear for another comfortable win.

The 600cc race saw a repeat of the Open encounter, only this time Archibald led at the start. After sitting behind for a couple of laps, Farquhar made his move and was able to take his third win of the day.

His penultimate race was the 125/450 race, where the 450s started in their own group. Seamus Elliott led on his 450 Yamaha until the third lap when Ryan found his way through. Elliott pushed Ryan all the way, but pushed too hard and slid off on the final lap, fortunately without injury. Farquhar not only took the 450 win, but was also the fastest rider on corrected time.

The final race of the day was the Grand Final, and with conditions again tricky it was another close race between Farquhar and Archibald. There was little to choose between the two riders as Archibald sat on his rival's the rear wheel, but on the last lap he crashed out at speed, without injury, allowing Farquhar to take an unprecedented fifth win of the day.

Farquhar said:

“It was really tough conditions out there and very difficult to know what tyres to choose. Some parts of the track were wet, some dry and some were very dirty with mud running on to the course and stuff so it was really slippy out there.”

“Adrian pushed me hard in the Superbike races none more so than in the Grand Final where I just couldn't shake him off.”

“He was there all the way through and it's probably the toughest race I've ever had in those conditions. I've won in the wet before, but have always had a bit of a buffer whereas this time he was on my bike wheel throughout and there was no let up. It was a real shame his race ended in a crash so I'm pleased he's ok.”

“Seamus also pushed me hard in the 450cc race and our bikes were pretty evenly matched so that was another tough race, although I was really chuffed to beat all the 125s on corrected time too.”

“I've taken 22 wins now at the Mid Antrim and it's certainly a circuit that's been kind to me over the years, it's just a shame that today's been spoilt by the weather a bit.”

“We've all got a mad dash now to get all the bikes, truck and the like all cleaned up before Armoy this weekend!”

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Ryan Farquhar on his way to another dominant win at the Mid-Antrim 150 (Pacemaker Press International)
Conor Cummins has joined the Padgetts Racing Honda team for 2017.
Lee Johnston has teamed up with Ryan Farquhar to race a KMR Kawasaki in the NI Air Ambulance colours at the North West 200 and Isle of Man TT.
Alastair Seeley with the Tyco BMW he will race at the North West 200.
John McGuinness on the Jackson Racing Honda.
Michael Dunlop, Carl Cox, [Credit: Holeshot PR]
Michael Dunlop has signed for Bennets Suzuki for the 2017 international road races.
Michael Dunlop has signed for the Bennett Suzuki team for 2017.
Guy Martin, John McGuinness Honda Racing, [Credit: Honda Racing]
Guy Martin, Honda Racing, [Credit: Honda Racing]
Josh Brookes has signed to ride for Norton at the Isle of Man TT in 2017.
Dan Kneen has signed for the Penz13.com Racing Team for the 2017 road races.
Dan Hegarty won the TT Privateers Championship in 2016.
Peter Hickman will ride for Smiths Racing in 2017 at the international road races and in the British Superbike Championship.
Peter Hickman won the Macau Grand Prix for the second year running on the Bathams/SMT BMW.
Glenn Irwin on the PBM Ducati at the Macau Grand Prix.
Glenn Irwin on the PBM Be Wiser Ducati at the Macau Grand Prix.
Peter Hickman on the Bathams/SMT BMW at the Macau Grand Prix.

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.