RR »

Star-studded line-up for Weston Beach Race

Dougie Lampkin, David Knight and Chris Walker are among the notable names that will be appearing at this weekend's RHL Weston Beach Race.
The 2010 RHL Weston Beach Race kicks off this weekend with a star-studded entry list that is set to draw in the crowds.

New for 2010, on the Friday the RHL Beach Race will see the first Polaris side-by-side race, this will involve a number of the riders who will be competing in the solo and quad races over the weekend racing against each other in the Polaris 'Buggies'.

Twelve-time World Champion, Red Bull Athlete, Dougie Lampkin will be on hand throughout the weekend demonstrating his unique trials techniques to the crowds and wooing them with his skills and talent over the three days. He will be doing regular demos over the weekend and tackling anything that falls in his way.

There will also be no end of top riders at the 2010 RHL Weston Beach Race from all forms of motorcycle sport including Enduro, Motocross, Quad and Road Racing.

Among those competing, recently crowned World E3 Enduro Champion David Knight, who has won the established event four times, returns for another tilt at the crown. 'Knighter' is a renowned all round racer, he first won the Weston in 1999 and in 2002 he took the win on a quad and also in the solo class, he last won the solo class in 2006 and this year will be out to take his tally of wins to five. The super sized Manxman is one of the most determined racers and will going all out on his factory KTM.

Fan favourites Chris Walker and Tommy Bridewell will also be present as they turn their attention from the tarmac to the sand. One of the most popular British Superbike riders Chris Walker will once again be racing in this year's solo event; this will be Chris' tenth time racing at the well established event.

Walker has always been a fond supporter of off-road and started his career as a top motocross racer before turning his attentions to the tarmac and becoming a winner of British and World Superbike races in the process.

A newcomer for this year's RHL Weston Beach Race is one of the most likeable riders in the British Superbike paddock, Tommy Bridewell. 21-year-old Bridewell who comes from Devizes has set himself the challenge of battling it out in the sand to see how he matches up. Being a local to Weston-Super-Mare he will no doubt bring plenty of support with him to cheer him on.

On the Motocross side, one of the best world motocross riders Josh Coppins will be saying his farewell's to racing on European soil before returning to his home in New Zealand. Josh created himself a very well established motocross career finishing runner up in the World MX1 Championship in 2005 and becoming twice British Champion. Josh has taken part in the RHL Weston Beach Race twice with his best result being second.

Newly crowned British Four Stroke Champion Jamie Lewis has also committed to racing in this year's RHL Beach Race. Jamie has been a dominant force in this year's four stroke Championship; he also won the Welsh Open Championship and finished second in the KWS Championship.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Tommy Bridewell - Quay Garage Honda [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Conor Cummins has joined the Padgetts Racing Honda team for 2017.
Lee Johnston has teamed up with Ryan Farquhar to race a KMR Kawasaki in the NI Air Ambulance colours at the North West 200 and Isle of Man TT.
Alastair Seeley with the Tyco BMW he will race at the North West 200.
John McGuinness on the Jackson Racing Honda.
Michael Dunlop, Carl Cox, [Credit: Holeshot PR]
Michael Dunlop has signed for Bennets Suzuki for the 2017 international road races.
Michael Dunlop has signed for the Bennett Suzuki team for 2017.
Guy Martin, John McGuinness Honda Racing, [Credit: Honda Racing]
Guy Martin, Honda Racing, [Credit: Honda Racing]
Josh Brookes has signed to ride for Norton at the Isle of Man TT in 2017.
Dan Kneen has signed for the Penz13.com Racing Team for the 2017 road races.
Dan Hegarty won the TT Privateers Championship in 2016.
Peter Hickman will ride for Smiths Racing in 2017 at the international road races and in the British Superbike Championship.
Peter Hickman won the Macau Grand Prix for the second year running on the Bathams/SMT BMW.
Glenn Irwin on the PBM Ducati at the Macau Grand Prix.
Glenn Irwin on the PBM Be Wiser Ducati at the Macau Grand Prix.
Peter Hickman on the Bathams/SMT BMW at the Macau Grand Prix.

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

Related Stories

    Data not found

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.