RR »

Murray Walker added to Isle of Man TT bill

Murray Walker will don the headphones again when he commentates on the Isle of Man TT 'Milestones of the Mountain' lap.
Murray Walker is to make an appearance at the 2011 Isle of Man TT by commentating on the 'Milestones of the Mountain' lap.

The legendary motorsport commentator, who hung up his microphone full-time in 2001, has a special connection with the TT, his father Graham having competed between 1920 and 1934, winning the 1931 Lightweight class.

As such, he will be on hand to talk through the Milestones of the Mountain, which features a collection of the iconic machines to have lapped the famous course over the last 100 years.

Murray will be commentating on the bikes live on Radio TT as they leave the line on Glencrutchery Road every thirty seconds.

“We felt that it was really important to recognise the anniversary of the Mountain Course with an appropriate parade and day of celebrations,” said Geoff Corkish, MBE, MHK, Political Member, Isle of Man Tourism.

“I am delighted that Murray Walker has accepted an invitation to attend. He has many friends on the Isle of Man and his attendance will add to the event's prestige.”

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Murray Walker (GBR), British F1, Silverstone, 4-6th, July, 2008
David Johnson will make his debut at the Classic TT in 2014
Danny Webb in action at the 2014 Isle of Man TT
Connor Behan in action at the 2014 Isle of Man TT
Lee Johnston in action at the 2014 Isle of Man TT
William Dunlop will ride a rotary Norton at the Classic TT
Dean Harrison will ride for Black Eagle Racing at the 2015 Classic TT
Lee Johnston will ride for Black Eagle Racing at the 2015 Classic TT
Cameron Donald will again ride for Norton at the Isle of Man TT in 2015
Mugen riders John McGuinness and Bruce Anstey at the 2014 Isle of Man TT
Robbin Harms and Isle of Man TT rider liaison officer Richard Quayle on the TT circuit
Michael Dunlop at the 2014 Isle of Man TT
John McGuinness and Conor Cummins back with Honda for TT 2015
Derek McGee will make his TT debut in 2015 after signing for Wilson Craig Racing
John McGuinness will ride the ex-Steve Hislop Norton at the Classic TT in 2015
Bruce Anstey celebrates winning the Formula 1 race at the Classic TT
James Hillier, Bruce Anstey and Russ Mountford at the Classic TT
Bruce Anstey on his way to victory in the Motorsport Merchandise Formula 1 race at the Classic TT

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.