RR »

Gary Johnson wins first TT race

Gary Johnson becomes an Isle of Man TT winner for the first time after an exceptional performance in the Supersport race two.
Gary Johnson has won his first Isle of Man TT race after a claiming an impressive victory in the second Supersport encounter.

The East Coast Racing Honda rider was in control throughout, managing his lead from the very first checkpoint to come away with victory by a clear ten seconds.

Johnson's cause was aided by the early retirement of Michael Dunlop, the Yamaha rider – who had been leading the way when the first running of the race was halted on Wednesday – hitting problems soon after the start.

Indeed, Johnson was three seconds up on John McGuinness after the first checkpoint and proceeded to control that advantage throughout to cross the line for a magnificent maiden triumph.

Superbike winner McGuinness held onto second aboard the Padgetts Honda, though only after Cameron Donald has retired from that position just two miles from home when his Wilson Craig Honda expired.

McGuinnes was, in turn, comfortably up on Guy Martin, who notched up his third podium in the four races so far with another solid run to third position aboard the Relentless Suzuki.

Keith Amor was in fourth position, ahead of the first Supersport race winner Bruce Anstey, the Kiwi unable to replicate his performance on the second running.

Dan Kneen was also in contention for a podium before being denied by a mechanical retirement aboard the Marks Bloom Yamaha, his misfortune promoting Conor Cummins to sixth position, a fine result given the trauma of his huge accident last year.

Ben Wylie, Roy Richardson, James Hillier and Mark Buckley completed the top ten.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Gary Johnson - East Coast Honda [pic credit: IOM TT Media]
Gary Johnson - East Coast Honda [pic credit: IOM TT Media]
Dean Harrison on the Silicone Engineering Kawasaki in the Senior TT.
Peter Hickman in the Senior TT on the Smiths BMW.
Michael Dunlop on the Bennetts Suzuki in the Senior TT.
Bruce Anstey on his way to victory in the TT Zero race.
Guy Martin on the Honda Racing Superbike.
Jochem van den Hoek.
Michael Rutter took victory in the Lightweight TT on the Italian Paton.
Dan Kneen celebrates with his team after sealing his maiden Isle of Man TT rostrum in the Superstock race.
Ian Hutchinson celebrates his Superstock victory.
Ian Hutchinson on his way to victory in the Superstock TT on the Tyco BMW.
Davey Lambert in the RST Superbike race.
A Sidecar narrowly missed spectators in an incident that was captured in a video posted on YouTube.
James Hillier on the JG Speedfit Kawasaki in the opening Supersport TT race.
Michael Dunlop in the Supersport TT.
Michael Dunlop on his Yamaha in the Supersport TT.
Peter Hickman claimed his maiden podium at the Isle of Man TT with a runner-up finish in the RST Superbike race.

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.