RR »

John McGuiness sets best Superbike time in wet at NW200

Tyco Suzuki rider Alastair Seeley secures pole position for Saturday's Superbike races at North West 200 after final qualifying held in wet conditions
Honda TT Legends rider John McGuinness was quickest in the Superbike class during final qualifying held in wet conditions at the Relentless International North West 200.

However, the Morecambe rider will start from second place on the grid in Saturday's two premier class races with Tuesday's times – set in the dry – determining the final grid positions.

McGuinness lapped at 110mph on his CBR1000RR Fireblade to post the fastest lap from Kiwi Bruce Anstey on Clive Padgett's Honda, but it is Tyco Suzuki British Superbike rider who will start from pole following his 120mph lap on Tuesday.

The front row of the Superbike grid on Saturday will be completed by William Dunlop on Wilson Craig's Honda.

Guy Martin, 208mph man Martin Jessopp and Ian Hutchinson complete the front row.

William Dunlop led the way on Craig's Honda in the Supersport class from brother Michael on the McAdoo GSX-R600, completing a lap of the 8.9-mile circuit at 108.17mph.

However, once again it will be reigning champion Alastair Seeley who sets off from pole on Saturday following his lap of 113.24mph in the dry on Tuesday.

His Tyco Suzuki team-mate Martin and Padgett's Honda man McGuiness fill out the front row, followed by the consistent William Dunlop, Gary Johnson and Michael Dunlop.

MSS Bathams Kawasaki ace Michael Rutter lived up to his wet weather specialist tag as he set the fastest lap in the tricky conditions on his ZX-10R in the Superstock session with a lap of 109mph from Anstey at 108.76mph.

Rutter, though, could find himself languishing down in 27th position on the grid after failing to register a dry qualifying time on Tuesday.

Ryan Farquhar holds onto his pole position start in the Superstock class following his lap at 117.55mph on Tuesday, followed by Seeley, McGuinness, William Dunlop, Stephen Thompson and Anstey.

Five races are scheduled for the main event on Saturday, including two Superbike and Supersport races and the Superstock event.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
John McGuinness on the Honda TT Legends Fireblade at the North West 200
Action from the 2015 North West 200.
Michael Dunlop, Bruce Anstey and Ryan Farquhar were the top three in the Formula 1 race at the Classic TT
John McGuinness on the Winfield Paton at the Classic TT
Ian Lougher on the Winfield Paton at the Classic TT
Ian Hutchinson on the PBM Kawasaki
Tyco BMW`s Guy Martin
Tyco BMW`s Guy Martin
Bruce Anstey won the Dundrod 150 Superbike race
Bruce Anstey won the Dundrod 150 Superbike race at the Metzeler Ulster Grand Prix
Guy Martin on the Tyco BMW at the Ulster Grand Prix
John McGuinness and Ryan Farquhar will again compete at the Classic TT on Paton machinery for Roger Winfield
Michael Dunlop won the feature Superbilke race the Armoy Road Races from Guy Martin and Dean Harrison
Steve Plater with Bruce Charman of Prime Factors
Guy Martin celebrates winning the Solo Championship race with Dan Kneen andIvan Lintin
Guy Martin at the Southern 100
Guy Martin, BMW, [Credit: BMW]
Guy Martin, Michael Dunlop and Dean Harrison on the Senior Race podium at the Southern 100

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.