RR »

Ryan Farquhar becomes first ever winner of Supertwin race at NW200

'It doesn't get any better than this and it's just a dream come true' - Ryan Farquhar
Ryan Farquhar hailed a dream KMR Kawasaki 1-2-3 finish in the first ever Supertwin race at the Relentless International North West 200 as a 'dream come true'.

Farquhar won the race from ex-Grand Prix winner and North West 200 newcomer Jeremy McWilliams, with 12-times circuit winner Michael Rutter producing a superb final lap to force his way through to claim the final position on the rostrum ahead of James Hillier and Adrian Archibald.

Ballyclare's Jamie Hamilton finished sixth to ensure all four of Farquhar's ER6 machines finished inside the top half dozen.

The thrilled Dungannon man, who built and prepared all four bikes, said: “It doesn't get any better than this - to run your own team and have three riders on the podium.

“I'm absolutely over the moon and a big thanks to Jeremy, Michael and Jamie because everyone has done us proud.

“I want to thank all my sponsors as well and everyone who has helped because this is just a dream come true,” added Farquhar, who was celebrating his fourth North West 200 success and his first victory on the Causeway Coast in seven years.

McWilliams, who was making his full racing debut at the North West, rode superbly to finish as the runner-up.

“I knew I could do it and I had a great bike and a great team behind me,” said the former MotoGP rider.

“The tyres were superb as well, so thanks to Bridgestone because we were the only ones using them.

“It was so nerve-wracking out there but I was having fun too.”

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Ryan Farquhar - KMR Kawasaki [pic credit: Glynne Lewis]
Michael Dunlop at the Frohburg Road Races
Michael Dunlop at the Frohburg Road Races
Michael Dunlop on the Team Classic Suzuki XR69
Michael Dunlop at the Classic TT
Michael Dunlop at the Ulster Grand Prix on the BMW Motorrad S1000RR
Michael Dunlop (Superbike) at Southern 100 (Pic: apex-photos.com)
Senior TT race winner Michael Dunlop
Michael Dunlop on the BMW Motorrad S1000RR in the Senior TT
Michael Dunlop, Conor Cummins and Guy Martin on the Senior TT podium
Michael Rutter on the Smiths Triumph
Michael Dunlop lines up at the start of the second Supersport TT race
Bruce Anstey and Michael Dunlop shake hands at the Isle of Man TT after the second Supersport race
Michael Dunlop on his MD Racing Honda in the Supersport TT
Michael Dunlop on the MD Racing BMW at the Isle of Man TT
Michael Dunlop, Dean Harrison and Bruce Anstey on the Superstock TT rostrum
Michael Dunlop and Bruce Anstey - 2014 Superstock TT (Apex-photos.com)
Michael Dunlop celebrates victory in the Superbike TT

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2014 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.