RR »

John McGuinness claims 18th TT victory in Superbike race

Mountain master John McGuinness takes honours in Superbike TT to wrap up incredible 18th success on Isle of Man as team-mate Simon Andrews suffers 'suspected multiple broken bones' in crash
The irrepressible John McGuinness lived up to the pre-race hype as he secured his 18th Isle of Man TT victory with a stunning success in the Dainese Superbike race.

McGuinness was unstoppable as he fended off an early challenge from Australian rider Cameron Donald on the Wilson Craig Honda to win by 14 seconds, with effervescent Kiwi Bruce Anstey sealing the final place on the rostrum to complete a Honda 1-2-3.

McGuinness set a new race record for the Superbike TT on his way to victory in a time of 1h 46m 03.06s.

The 40-year-old, who was celebrating his seventh Formula One/Superbike victory, also clocked the fastest lap of the race at 130.483mph, but Conor Cummins' 131mph effort from 2010 remains the record speed for the Superbike TT.

Anstey finished 42 seconds behind double-TT winner Donald, with Tyco Suzuki's Guy Martin a further 20 seconds in arrears on the GSX-R1000 superbike.

It was ultimately a disappointing result for Martin, who was feeling confident of challenging for that elusive maiden victory at the TT prior to the start of the six-lap race, which was delayed by 15 minutes due to sea mist affecting visibility on the Mountain.

Martin had held third place for the majority of the showdown, but Anstey produced a sizzling final two laps to overhaul a 12 second deficit to the Lincolnshire star for a deserved third place finish on Clive Padgett's Honda.

Manx favourite, Conor Cummins, was ruled out of the race on the second Tyco Suzuki after withdrawing on safety grounds.

Cummins has struggled to overcome a hand injury suffered following a crash at the North West 200 last month, which left him nursing two broken metacarpals in his right hand.

However, the Ramsey resident hopes to be back in the saddle for the remainder of the festival next week.

Anstey's team-mate, Gary Johnson, finished fifth with William Dunlop continuing to excel at TT2012 as he rounded out the leading six on the second of Northern Ireland businessman Craig's Honda Fireblades.

McGuinness's Honda Legends team-mate, Simon Andrews, crashed out on the opening lap at Graham's on the Mountain.

Andrews suffered 'suspected multiple broken bones', though none of his injuries were described as life-threatening.

Only one second covered the leading three of McGuinness, Donald and Martin after the opening lap, with Donald actually moving into the lead of the race at the Bungalow by a few tenths of a second.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
John McGuinness on the Honda TT Legends Fireblade at Ballaugh Bridge
Lee Johnston has teamed up with Ryan Farquhar to race a KMR Kawasaki in the NI Air Ambulance colours at the North West 200 and Isle of Man TT.
Alastair Seeley with the Tyco BMW he will race at the North West 200.
John McGuinness on the Jackson Racing Honda.
Guy Martin, John McGuinness Honda Racing, [Credit: Honda Racing]
Guy Martin, Honda Racing, [Credit: Honda Racing]
Josh Brookes has signed to ride for Norton at the Isle of Man TT in 2017.
Dan Hegarty won the TT Privateers Championship in 2016.
Peter Hickman will ride for Smiths Racing in 2017 at the international road races and in the British Superbike Championship.
Martin Jessopp on the Riders Motorcycles BMW at the Macau Grand Prix.
Michael Rutter and John McGuinness during the pre-event press conference ahead of the 50th Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix.
Action from the 2016 North West 200
Michael Dunlop on the Team Classic Suzuki XR69 during the Classic Superbike race at the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop on the Black Eagle MV Agusta at the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop on the Black Eagle MV Agusta at the Classic TT.
Bruce Anstey won the Lightweight race at the Classic TT on the Padgetts Honda RS250.
John McGuinness on the Winfield Paton at the Classic TT.
Bruce Anstey on the Padgetts RS250 Honda at the Classic TT.

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

Sump Rat

June 02, 2012 10:53 PM

Congratulations to John McGuinness, awesome ride again. Well done Cameron Donald. Go 86. I am confident Cam will win again soon. Bruce the Kiwi done good as well. Hope the sunshine lasts for a while longer at the Isle.

wes graham - Unregistered

June 03, 2012 9:44 AM

well done to john,cameron and bruce. all on hondas. i as already stated in previous posting tas willNOT WIN at this years tt or maybe not even get on to the the third stept. wes graham.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.