RR »

Dave Molyneux claims 15th TT victory with Sidecar success

'It feels amazing and it's not bad for an old Manx fella. It was seriously windy in places on the Mountain and I knew we had a head wind but I just kept going' - Dave Molyneux
Dave Molyneux made a triumphant return to the Isle of Man TT races on Saturday after a year's absence to wrap up his 15th victory in the opening Sure Sidecar race.

Molyneux, partnered by Patrick Farrance, quickly moved into the lead and was never troubled as he went on to win by 22 seconds after three laps from former Sidecar world champions Ben and Tom Birchall, who recorded their first ever TT podium in second.

The Birchall brothers, competing for former winner Klaus Klaffenbock's team, were overjoyed to finish on the rostrum in second place after recovering from a crash during practice last Monday night at Brandywell.

Conrad Harrison and Mike Aylott completed the rostrum.

Molyneux said: “It feels amazing and it's not bad for an old Manx fella. It was seriously windy in places on the Mountain and I knew we had a head wind but I just kept going.

“The old legs and hips have taken a battering but a massive thanks to my brother Graham who has fronted the whole thing for me this year and everyone who has backed me.”

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Dave Molyneux and Patrick Farrance during Sidecar practice for the Isle of Man TT races
Bruce Anstey is set to ride a Honda RC213V-S at the Isle of Man TT
Conor Cummins will race for Padgett`s Honda in the Supersport and Superstock races at the Isle of Man TT.
Lee Johnston on the East Coast/Burdens Triumph at the North West 200.
2015 Isle of Man TT Races.
John McGuinness at the start of the Senior TT in 2015.
Lee Johnston will ride for Sarolea Racing in the TT Zero race.
Gary Johnson will ride the T3 Triumph at the 2016 Isle of Man TT.
Seamus Elliott
Victor Cox will make his debut at the Isle of Man TT in 2016.
Shaun Harris at the Isle of Man TT in 2007.
Josh Daley
Michael Rutter celebrates winning the 350cc Classic TT
Michael Dunlop, Bruce Anstey and Ryan Farquhar were the top three in the Formula 1 race at the Classic TT
Dan Cooper and Michael Rutter in the 350cc Classic TT
Michael Dunlop won the Formula 1 Classic TT on the Team Classic Suzuki
Michael Rutter on the Ripley Land Racing Honda at the Classic TT
Michael Dunlop and Michael Rutter at the Classic TT

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

Jeff 8 - Unregistered

June 04, 2012 9:57 AM

Good to see Moly back after his year off, he hasn't lost any of his pace, but new engine rules will keep them from lap records. Patrick Farrance deserved the win too, at last. Good comeback for the Birchalls after their crash.

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.