RR »

Ryan Farquhar dominates Lightweight TT for third Mountain success

'It's unreal. I've worked so hard for this over the past four years trying to promote the class and building bikes and this is fantastic' - Ryan Farquhar
Ryan Farquhar clinched his third victory at the Isle of Man TT races in dominant fashion as he won the inaugural Lightweight Supertwin race by almost half a minute.

Farquhar started the race as the red-hot favourite following his North West 200 success on his KMR Kawasaki ER6 last month.

His winning margin was 28.99 seconds after three laps from James Hillier, who claimed his maiden TT rostrum.

Michael Rutter - whose pit crew included John McGuinness and Steve Parrish - took third position in Farquhar's KMR colours to cap a perfect day for the Northern Irishman, just five seconds behind Hillier.

The British Superbike rider and TT Zero winner had the consolation of setting the best lap of the race at 115.186mph.

Farquhar, who enjoyed a successful week at the TT with third place in the Superstock and second Supersport races, said: “It's unreal. I've worked so hard for this over the past four years trying to promote the class and building bikes.

“I've tried to get as many top class riders onto my own bikes as possible and I'm totally over the moon.

“Michael took third on my bike and I did a lot of work on James Hillier's bike as well – it's absolutely fantastic and it would've been nice having a 1-2-3 but I'll take a bit of credit for the work I did on James' bike!”

Bournemouth Kawasaki ace Hillier added: “I just rode as steady as I could and once I got onto the start/finish straight I knew we were home.

“I'm made up and it's been a good week for us. A win would've been good but I'm still learning and we'll get there and I'm happy.”

Farquhar made his required pit-stop at the end of the first lap as Hillier opted to go straight through, giving the English rider a false lead on lap two until the picture was made clearer when he made his stop at the end of the penultimate lap.

Dungannon man Farquhar was never seriously threatened and with a lead of 10 seconds at Ramsey on the first lap, it was clear Farquhar had the upper hand.

He continued to pull away and when the times were corrected following Hillier's stop, Farquhar held an unassailable advantage, leading by a commanding 28 seconds at Glen Helen.

Farquhar maintained his lead on the final lap as he fulfilled expectations by taking the race win.

Cameron Donald was fourth, 31 seconds down on Rutter, with Russ Mountford fifth ahead of William Dunlop.

Newcomer Jamie Hamilton finished tenth on another of Farquhar's KMR Kawasaki machines.

The Lightweight race was the only event held on Saturday after the organisers opted to cancel the feature Senior race on safety grounds with damp patches around the Mountain course.

A series of frustrating delays put a dampener on the finale to the 2012 festival, with the Lightweight race - put back a day from Friday as a result of poor weather - was originally due to start at 10.45am.

Following a course inspection, the race eventually received the green light and finally got under way at 6.30pm.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Ryan Farquhar during opening practice for the Isle of Man TT Lightweight class
David Johnson will make his debut at the Classic TT in 2014
Danny Webb in action at the 2014 Isle of Man TT
Connor Behan in action at the 2014 Isle of Man TT
Lee Johnston in action at the 2014 Isle of Man TT
William Dunlop will ride a rotary Norton at the Classic TT
Dean Harrison will ride for Black Eagle Racing at the 2015 Classic TT
Lee Johnston will ride for Black Eagle Racing at the 2015 Classic TT
Gary Johnson leads Alastair Seeley and Bruce Anstey at the North West 200
Cameron Donald will again ride for Norton at the Isle of Man TT in 2015
Mugen riders John McGuinness and Bruce Anstey at the 2014 Isle of Man TT
Robbin Harms and Isle of Man TT rider liaison officer Richard Quayle on the TT circuit
William and Michael Dunlop in action at the North West 200
Michael Dunlop at the 2014 Isle of Man TT
Honda Racing`s John McGuinness joined fellow Honda riders to take part in an assessment day at the English Institute of Sport – the organisation behind much of Team GB’s outstanding success at the London 2012 Olympics
John McGuinness and Conor Cummins back with Honda for TT 2015
Derek McGee will make his TT debut in 2015 after signing for Wilson Craig Racing
Glenn Irwin and Ben Wilson with NW200 Event Director Mervyn Whyte and Rider Liaison officer Steve Plater

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

Mark Gardiner - Unregistered

June 10, 2012 8:18 PM

Bummer to see the Senior canceled -- but I guess even the TT has to move with the times. In any case, if you want to keep your TT buzz going into the summer, read Riding Man -- available for the Kindle at Amazon.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.