RR »

Irish rider Wayne Kirwan wins Junior race at Manx GP

Northern Ireland's Ryan Farquhar failed to repeat his 2011 victory in the Junior Classic race at the Manx Grand Prix after he was forced to retire on the opening lap of the race.

Farquhar, riding Roger Winfield's 350cc Honda, had been lying in third place when mechanical issues struck and he pulled out of the race at Brandywell.

That left adopted Manxman Chris Palmer, who lives in Castletown on the island, to take the silverware – his third victory at the Manx – by 35 seconds from Chris Swallow on the 350cc Aermacchi.

And although Farquhar was ruled out of contention for a rostrum place, fellow countryman Nigel Moore made it onto the podium with a fine ride to third on his 350cc Honda ahead of Alan Oversby.

Roy Richardson had set the pace and led by 38 seconds from Palmer after an opening lap of 102.327mph before machine trouble ruled him out at the Black Dub on lap two.

Peter Symes from Tamworth won the concurrently run 250cc race.

Today's racing had been postponed from Monday, when heavy rain and high winds lashed the Isle of Man.

Farquhar will be aiming to make amends in tomorrow's Classic Senior race, which is scheduled for a 10.15am start.

The Supertwin/Lightweight races, which will run concurrently, are due off at 1.15pm.

Both races will be held over four laps.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Wayne Kirwan, winner of the Junior Manx Grand Prix
Lee Johnston in action at the Ulster Grand Prix
Malachi Mitchell-Thomas in action in the Senior Manx Grand Prix
Billy Redmayne, Malachi Mitchell-Thomas, Rob Hodson on the podium after the Junior Manx Grand Prix
Michael Dunlop, Bruce Anstey and Ryan Farquhar were the top three in the Formula 1 race at the Classic TT
Dennis Hoffer at the Manx Grand Prix
Newcomers prepare to leave the line at the Manx Grand Prix
Lee Johnston, Peter Hickman and Michael Dunlop on the Superstock podium at the Ulster Grand Prix
Lee Johnston at the Ulster Grand Prix
Bruce Anstey won the Dundrod 150 Superbike race at the Metzeler Ulster Grand Prix
Glenn Irwin will ride the Cookstown/BE Racing Supertwin Kawasaki at the Ulster Grand Prix
Guy Martin on the Tyco BMW at the Ulster Grand Prix
John McGuinness and Ryan Farquhar will again compete at the Classic TT on Paton machinery for Roger Winfield
Glenn Irwin and Christian Elkin with Ulster GP Clerk of the Course, Noel Johnston, and Supertwins race sponsors Maxwell Freight
Gary Johnson and Ryan Farquhar during practice for the Lightweight TT
Ryan Farquhar
Ryan Farquhar leads Jamie Hamilton and Jeremy McWilliams at the North West 200 in the Supertwin class
Ryan Farquhar at the North West 200

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.