RR »

McGuinness signs up for 2013 North West 200

John McGuinness will return to North West 200 in 2013 after finalising deal with event organisers at Macau Grand Prix
Isle of Man TT legend John McGuinness is the first official big-name signing for next year's North West 200 in Northern Ireland.

The 19-times TT winner confirmed his return to the international road race with the event organisers at the Macau Grand Prix.

McGuinness was a winner in the Superbike class at the North West in May on the Honda TT Legends Fireblade.

He is expected to remain with the official Honda team in 2013.

The 40-year-old finished seventh at Macau after starting from the front row of the grid on the SMT Honda.

McGuinness missed the North West in 2011 due to his commitments with in the Endurance World Championship with Honda.

The Morecambe rider overshot at Lisboa in the second half of the race as he attempted to make a pass on Gary Johnson for fourth place.

Austria's Horst Saiger, who made his NW200 debut this year, will also return to the event next season, which takes place from May 12-18.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
John McGuinness during practice for the Isle of Man TT
Conor Cummins has joined the Padgetts Racing Honda team for 2017.
Lee Johnston has teamed up with Ryan Farquhar to race a KMR Kawasaki in the NI Air Ambulance colours at the North West 200 and Isle of Man TT.
John McGuinness on the Jackson Racing Honda.
Guy Martin, John McGuinness Honda Racing, [Credit: Honda Racing]
Guy Martin, Honda Racing, [Credit: Honda Racing]
Josh Brookes has signed to ride for Norton at the Isle of Man TT in 2017.
Dan Hegarty won the TT Privateers Championship in 2016.
Peter Hickman will ride for Smiths Racing in 2017 at the international road races and in the British Superbike Championship.
Michael Rutter and John McGuinness during the pre-event press conference ahead of the 50th Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix.
Michael Dunlop on the Team Classic Suzuki XR69 during the Classic Superbike race at the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop on the Black Eagle MV Agusta at the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop on the Black Eagle MV Agusta at the Classic TT.
Bruce Anstey won the Lightweight race at the Classic TT on the Padgetts Honda RS250.
John McGuinness on the Winfield Paton at the Classic TT.
Bruce Anstey on the Padgetts RS250 Honda at the Classic TT.
Dean Harrison on the Silicone Engineering Kawasaki at the Classic TT.
Bruce Anstey on the Padgetts RS250 Honda at the Classic TT.

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.