RR »

Dunlop and Cummins join Team Classic Suzuki

'It is a real honour to ride for Team Classic Suzuki and their machinery and back-up is second to none' - Michael Dunlop
Leading road race stars Michael Dunlop and Conor Cummins
will lead Team Classic Suzuki's challenge for glory at the Classic TT in 2013.

The pair will have the latest 16-valve Suzuki XR69 machines for the outfit at their disposal to contest the Formula 1 race.

The team is owned by Northamptonshire businessman Steve Wheatman.

Leading female TT and Manx GP regular Maria Costello MBE also joins the team on a Harris-framed GSXR750 Suzuki, while young Northern Ireland rider John Simpson - who won the Senior Manx Grand Prix on his debut this year - completes the line-up on an RG500.

Seven times TT winner Mick Grant will take on the role of Team
Co-Ordinator for the event with former Suzuki race team mechanics Paul Boulton and Nathan Colombi and XR69 development guru John Sims of Trident Engineering in charge of machine preparation.

Dunlop said: "It is a real honour to ride for Team Classic Suzuki and their machinery and back-up is second to none.

"It's going to be good going head to head with Conor and hopefully we can take the top two steps on the podium between us."

Cummins is also looking forward to competing in the event, which has been rebranded as the Isle of Man Festival of Motorcycling, traditionally known as the Manx Grand Prix.

"The XR69 is a beautiful machine and I'm really looking forward to racing it on the Mountain Course," he said.

"It's definitely going to be different to what I'm used to but the Classic TT is looking really exciting and as a local lad I couldn't miss out."

A host of modern-day TT stars are being lined up for the event, with Guy Martin and Dan Cooper also among the entries next year.

The duo will compete for Team Molnar Manx in the 500cc Classic TT event.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Michael Dunlop on his way to victory in the Classic Superbike race at the Manx Grand Prix
Conor Cummins has joined the Padgetts Racing Honda team for 2017.
Lee Johnston has teamed up with Ryan Farquhar to race a KMR Kawasaki in the NI Air Ambulance colours at the North West 200 and Isle of Man TT.
Alastair Seeley with the Tyco BMW he will race at the North West 200.
John McGuinness on the Jackson Racing Honda.
Michael Dunlop, Carl Cox, [Credit: Holeshot PR]
Michael Dunlop has signed for Bennets Suzuki for the 2017 international road races.
Michael Dunlop has signed for the Bennett Suzuki team for 2017.
Guy Martin, John McGuinness Honda Racing, [Credit: Honda Racing]
Guy Martin, Honda Racing, [Credit: Honda Racing]
Josh Brookes has signed to ride for Norton at the Isle of Man TT in 2017.
Dan Kneen has signed for the Penz13.com Racing Team for the 2017 road races.
Dan Hegarty won the TT Privateers Championship in 2016.
Peter Hickman will ride for Smiths Racing in 2017 at the international road races and in the British Superbike Championship.
Peter Hickman won the Macau Grand Prix for the second year running on the Bathams/SMT BMW.
Glenn Irwin on the PBM Ducati at the Macau Grand Prix.
Glenn Irwin on the PBM Be Wiser Ducati at the Macau Grand Prix.
Peter Hickman on the Bathams/SMT BMW at the Macau Grand Prix.

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.