RR »

McGuinness switches to number '3' for 2013 TT

'All I know is that if someone catches you, then you're beat' - Michael Dunlop
James Hillier will have the honour of carrying the number one plate at this year's Isle of Man TT races.

The Quattro Plant Kawasaki rider will set off down the Glencrutchery Road with a clear road ahead of him after 19-times winner John McGuinness vacated the position to take the iconic number three made famous by Ulsterman Joey Dunlop, who remains the most successful TT rider ever with 26 wins.

Australia's Cameron Donald starts at number two, with Guy Martin on the Tyco Suzuki setting off behind McGuinness at number four.

Bruce Anstey retains his familiar number five and the Kiwi will be followed by Honda TT Legends rider Michael Dunlop, who takes number six.

Dunlop, who claimed the third TT win of his career last year in the second Supersport event, told the Belfast News Letter: “To me it doesn't really make that much difference where you start.

“All I know is that if someone catches you, then you're beat.

“I'll just get my head down and go for it.

“It's a big year for me at Honda and we're not going there to finish second,” he added.

“John's the man to beat and I'm going there to try and beat him.”

Next is Gary Johnson (7), with Michael Rutter at eight, Dan Stewart on the SMT Honda at nine and Manx rider Conor Cummins on the Milwaukee Yamaha at ten.

William Dunlop – who claimed his first TT podium with third in the opening Supersport race last year – sets off behind team-mate Cummins at 11.

Simon Andrews, who suffered a serious crash on the Honda TT Legends Fireblade in the Superbike TT in 2012, has been awarded the number 17 plate.

The top 20 numbers were decided based on a seeded selection process, with the remaining start numbers set to be determined by qualifying times during practice week.

Meanwhile, Sidecar TT star Dave Molyneux and passenger Patrick Farrance will lead the field away after being confirmed as carrying the number one plate.

Like McGuinness, Molyneux has also had a part of the TT circuit named after him, with the fast right-hander at the end of the Cronk-y-Voddy straight now known as Molyneux's.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
John McGuinness on the Honda Legends Fireblade at the 2012 Isle of Man TT
Guy Martin on the Honda Fireblade at the Isle of Man TT.
Dean Harrison, Dan Kneen and Michael Dunlop at the Southern 100.
Michael Dunlop at the Classic TT
Dean Harrison on the Silicone Engineering Kawasaki in the Senior TT.
Peter Hickman in the Senior TT on the Smiths BMW.
Michael Dunlop on the Bennetts Suzuki in the Senior TT.
Bruce Anstey on his way to victory in the TT Zero race.
Guy Martin on the Honda Racing Superbike.
Jochem van den Hoek.
Michael Rutter took victory in the Lightweight TT on the Italian Paton.
Dan Kneen celebrates with his team after sealing his maiden Isle of Man TT rostrum in the Superstock race.
Ian Hutchinson celebrates his Superstock victory.
Ian Hutchinson on his way to victory in the Superstock TT on the Tyco BMW.
Davey Lambert in the RST Superbike race.
A Sidecar narrowly missed spectators in an incident that was captured in a video posted on YouTube.
James Hillier on the JG Speedfit Kawasaki in the opening Supersport TT race.
Michael Dunlop in the Supersport TT.

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.