RR »

Seeley allocated lowly grid slot for NW200 Superbike races

Alastair Seeley will start from the second row of Group B in the Superbike races at the North West 200 and the fourth row of the second group in the Supersport class following decision by event stewards
Pre-race favourite Alastair Seeley will start from the second row of Group B in the Superbike races at the North West 200.

Seeley was allocated the lowly grid position following a stewards meeting after final qualifying today.

The Gearlink and MSS Kawasaki rider failed to qualify for either the Supersport or Superbike classes on Tuesday and was unable to improve his time significantly as heavy rain led to much slower lap speeds in the final practice sessions.

It had been anticipated that the Northern Ireland rider would be moved into the first wave of riders given his obvious credentials as a potential race winner at the North West 200, but Seeley now faces an uphill task in Saturday's premier races from row two in the second group.

The British Supersport Championship leader also has his work cut out in the Supersport class, with the outcome of the stewards meeting ruling that he will start from the fourth row of Group B.

Seeley, a winner in the Superbike, Supersport and Superstock classes in 2012, is in action this evening in the first Superstock and Supersport events.

He qualified on pole position on his MSS Kawasaki for the Superstock race ahead of Michael Dunlop.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Alastair Seeley
Dean Harrison on the Silicone Engineering Kawasaki at the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop on the Team Classic Suzuki XR69 at the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop on the Team Classic Suzuki XR69 during practice for the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop
Ian Hutchinson leads Michael Dunlop in the Superbike class at the Ulster Grand Prix.
Michael Dunlop
Michael Dunlop in action at the Armoy Road Races.
Peter Hickman on the GBmoto Kawasaki.
Michael Dunlop at the Southern 100
Michael Dunlop at the Southern 100.
Senior TT race winner Michael Dunlop, runner-up Ian Hutchinson and John McGuinness
Michael Dunlop on the Hawk Racing BMW in the Senior TT.
Ivan Lintin won the Lightweight TT on the Devitt RC Express Kawasaki.
Bruce Anstey, William Dunlop and Daley Mathison were the top three in the SES TT Zero race.
Michael Dunlop on the Street Sweep Yamaha R6 at the Isle of Man TT.
James Hillier on the Muc-Off Quattro Plant Kawasaki.
Michael Rutter on the Bathams SMT BMW at the Isle of Man TT

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.