RR »

Seeley victorious in North West 200 Supersport race

Gearlink Kawasaki's Alastair Seeley wins Supersport race on corrected time from Michael Dunlop following dramatic final lap to claim his ninth North West 200 success
British Supersport Championship leader Alastair Seeley defied the odds to take his ninth North West 200 win in the opening Supersport race tonight.

Seeley had to start from the fourth row of Group B after experiencing mechanical trouble in Tuesday's first practice before rain prevented the Ulsterman from improving his times during final qualifying.

Michael Dunlop, who stormed into the lead of the five-lap race – reduced from six laps due to a delay as competitors changed their tyres following the sighting lap to suit the damp conditions – looked a certain winner as he stretched away at the front.

He held a lead of eight seconds over Seeley at one stage on corrected time on his PTR World Supersport-prepared Honda CBR600.

Gearlink Kawasaki rider Seeley though was making smooth progress as he rapidly made up ground through the pack.

On the final lap, Dunlop's lead was five seconds but incredibly Seeley set a blistering pace to take the victory by 1.3s.

Behind Dunlop, Tyco Suzuki's Guy Martin was a lonely third, some 24 seconds down on the leaders.

Bruce Anstey was next on the HM Plant/Padgett's Honda followed by Mar-Train Racing's Stuart Easton and Dean Harrison (Yamaha), who completed the top six.

William Dunlop, a winner last year in the Supersport class, was a retirement on his Milwaukee/CD Racing Yamaha along with Gary Johnson on Jack Valentine's Valmoto MV Agusta 657 F3.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Alastair Seeley on the Gearlink Kawasaki
Bruce Anstey on the Padgetts RS250 Honda at the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop on the Team Classic Suzuki XR69 at the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop on the Team Classic Suzuki XR69 during practice for the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop
Bruce Anstey on the YZR500 Yamaha at the Classic TT.
Ian Hutchinson leads Michael Dunlop in the Superbike class at the Ulster Grand Prix.
Michael Dunlop
Michael Dunlop in action at the Armoy Road Races.
Peter Hickman on the GBmoto Kawasaki.
Michael Dunlop at the Southern 100
Michael Dunlop at the Southern 100.
Senior TT race winner Michael Dunlop, runner-up Ian Hutchinson and John McGuinness
Michael Dunlop on the Hawk Racing BMW in the Senior TT.
Ivan Lintin won the Lightweight TT on the Devitt RC Express Kawasaki.
Bruce Anstey, William Dunlop and Daley Mathison were the top three in the SES TT Zero race.
Bruce Anstey won the SES TT Zero race on the Mugen.
Michael Dunlop on the Street Sweep Yamaha R6 at the Isle of Man TT.

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

tomcol - Unregistered

May 17, 2013 1:27 PM

It used to be covered on Motors TV which seems to have disappeared and replaced with a "BT Sport coming soon" title. What a bunch of crp. Motors TV had all the minor road racing and thundersports series on. I bet BT done cover any of those.

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.