RR »

Ulster Grand Prix: Guy Martin claims ninth victory

Tyco Suzuki's Guy Martin has won his ninth Ulster Grand Prix race after taking victory in the opening Supersport event over Bruce Anstey
Guy Martin has claimed his ninth Ulster Grand Prix victory after fending off Bruce Anstey in a thrilling last lap battle in the opening Supersport race at Dundrod.

Martin, who signed a new contract to remain with Northern Ireland team Tyco Suzuki in 2014, led for much of the race – held on wet but drying roads – with Kiwi Anstey in close contention on the Padgett's HM Plant Honda.

Michael Dunlop had been lying in third place on his PTR-prepared MD Racing Honda but was forced out with a problem around the half way point of the six-lap race.

Martin and Anstey broke away at the front and although the Honda rider managed to force his way into the lead on the final lap, Lincolnshire star Martin hit back to re-take the top spot and held on for a popular victory.

Lee Johnston denied Ian Lougher a rostrum finish as he seized third on his East Coast Honda on the final lap, with Lougher taking fourth ahead of Milwaukee Yamaha riders William Dunlop and Conor Cummins.

Cameron Donald on Wilson Craig's Honda was seventh with Ivan Lintin completing the top eight on his Kawasaki.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Guy Martin
Bruce Anstey won the Lightweight race at the Classic TT on the Padgetts Honda RS250.
Bruce Anstey on the Padgetts RS250 Honda at the Classic TT.
Bruce Anstey on the Padgetts RS250 Honda at the Classic TT.
Bruce Anstey on the YZR500 Yamaha at the Classic TT.
Ian Hutchinson leads Michael Dunlop in the Superbike class at the Ulster Grand Prix.
Ian Hutchinson celebrates his four wins at the Ulster Grand Prix.
Bruce Anstey, William Dunlop and Daley Mathison were the top three in the SES TT Zero race.
Bruce Anstey won the SES TT Zero race on the Mugen.
Bruce Anstey on the Honda RC213V-S during practice for the Isle of Man TT.
Manx rider Dean Martin
Bruce Anstey is set to ride a Honda RC213V-S at the Isle of Man TT
Alastair Seeley celebrates winning his 16th North West 200 in the Supersport race from Ian Hutchinson and Martin Jessopp.
Martin Jessopp on the Riders Motorcycles BMW.
Action from the 2015 Ulster Grand Prix
Ian Hutchinson on the PBM Kawasaki at the Macau Grand Prix.
John McGuinness on the Honda Racing Fireblade at the Macau Grand Prix.
Peter Hickman on the Briggs BMW at the Macau Grand Prix

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.