RR »

Ulster Grand Prix: Superbike glory for revitalised Martin

Guy Martin clinches victory in the feature Superbike race at the Ulster Grand Prix with narrow win over Honda TT Legends rider Michael Dunlop
Tyco Suzuki's Guy Martin defeated Michael Dunlop to win the blue riband Superbike race at the Ulster Grand Prix.

Martin, who has signed a new contract with the Ulster team for 2014, led from start to finish after passing Dunlop on the first lap on his GSX-R1000 to seize his 10th UGP success.

He managed to make a break for it at the front, but Honda TT Legends star Dunlop slowly reeled in the Lincolnshire rider and was right in his wheel tracks on the seventh and last lap.

The two leaders, who had broken clear of Milwaukee Yamaha's William Dunlop in a safe third, encountered slower riders on the final lap.

Martin, though, never put a foot wrong as the 31-year-old reclaimed the main Ulster GP Superbike title after winning the big race in 2012.

The difference between the pair at the flag was 0.039s with William Dunlop some distance behind in the last rostrum position.

It was Martin's second win of the day following his earlier triumph in the first Supersport race over Bruce Anstey.

Padgett's HM Plant Honda rider Anstey finished fourth ahead of Gary Johnson on the Lincs Lifting Honda with Lee Johnston (East Coast Honda) edging Dean Harrison for sixth at the finish.

Conor Cummins had been running with Anstey and Johnson until he slowed at the end, eventually finishing tenth on the second Milwaukee Yamaha.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Tyco Suzuki`s Guy Martin
Lee Johnston in action at the Ulster Grand Prix
Malachi Mitchell-Thomas in action in the Senior Manx Grand Prix
Billy Redmayne, Malachi Mitchell-Thomas, Rob Hodson on the podium after the Junior Manx Grand Prix
Michael Dunlop, Bruce Anstey and Ryan Farquhar were the top three in the Formula 1 race at the Classic TT
Dennis Hoffer at the Manx Grand Prix
Newcomers prepare to leave the line at the Manx Grand Prix
Lee Johnston, Peter Hickman and Michael Dunlop on the Superstock podium at the Ulster Grand Prix
Lee Johnston at the Ulster Grand Prix
Tyco BMW`s Guy Martin
Tyco BMW`s Guy Martin
Bruce Anstey won the Dundrod 150 Superbike race
Bruce Anstey won the Dundrod 150 Superbike race at the Metzeler Ulster Grand Prix
Glenn Irwin will ride the Cookstown/BE Racing Supertwin Kawasaki at the Ulster Grand Prix
Guy Martin on the Tyco BMW at the Ulster Grand Prix
Michael Dunlop won the feature Superbilke race the Armoy Road Races from Guy Martin and Dean Harrison
Glenn Irwin and Christian Elkin with Ulster GP Clerk of the Course, Noel Johnston, and Supertwins race sponsors Maxwell Freight
Steve Plater with Bruce Charman of Prime Factors

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.