RR »

Olie Linsdell takes commanding victory at Classic TT

Olie Linsdell dominated the 500cc Classic TT race on the Isle of Man to win by over two minutes from William Dunlop
Bedfordshire's Olie Linsdell has won the Bennetts 500cc Classic TT race on the Isle of Man, which lifted the curtain on the inaugural festival this afternoon.

Linsdell took the chequered flag with over two minutes in hand on the Giovanni Cabassi Paton over Ulsterman William Dunlop in second position on the Davis Motorsport Honda 500-4.

Jamie Coward (Norton) completed the rostrum positions after the four-lap race – held in perfect conditions – in third place, with Ian Lougher – set to retire from road racing at the end of the season – in fourth on the Royal Enfield.

There was huge disappointment for Isle of Man TT legend John McGuinness, who was forced out at the end of the first lap with problems on the Winfield Paton.

The Morecambe rider had posted the second fastest lap overall during practice for the class despite only completing Tuesday's session before experiencing problems with the machine on Wednesday and Thursday.

Bruce Anstey, Cameron Donald, Conor Cummins and Chris Palmer were also amongst the retirements in the race.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Olie Linsdell at the Classic TT races
Southern 100 2014 - Solo Champion - Guy Martin (apex-photos.com)
Southern 100 2014 - Conrad Harrison Jason Crowe - Sidecar Champions  (apex-photos.com)
Lightweight Southern 100 - Dean Harrison Goes Underneath James Cowton  (Apex-Photos.com)
Guy Martin on the Tyco Suzuki
Guy Martin on the Tyco Suzuki
Dave Molyneux, Benjamin Binns at Southern 100 (Pic: apex-photos.com)
Michael Dunlop (Superbike) at Southern 100 (Pic: apex-photos.com)
Jamie Hamilton
James Hillier in the Senior race at the Isle of Man TT
Guy Martin in the Senior TT
John McGuinness on the Honda Fireblade in the Senior race at the Isle of Man TT
Senior TT race winner Michael Dunlop
Dean Harrison on his way to victory in the Lightweight TT
Michael Dunlop on the BMW Motorrad S1000RR in the Senior TT
Michael Dunlop, Conor Cummins and Guy Martin on the Senior TT podium
Dean Harrison on the Mar-Train Racing Yamaha in the Supersport TT
Michael Rutter on the Smiths Triumph

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2014 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.