RR »

Manx Grand Prix: Michael Sweeney wins dramatic Junior race

Irish rider Michael Sweeney takes his second victory in the Junior Manx Grand Prix after long time race leader James Cowton runs out of fuel on the final lap
Ireland's Michael Sweeney was handed victory in a dramatic conclusion to the Junior Manx Grand Prix race at the 90th anniversary meeting on the Isle of Man.

A former winner of the race three years ago, Sweeney took the spoils after race leader James Cowton from Yorkshire ran out of fuel around a quarter of a mile from the finish whilst holding a lead of 16 seconds.

Michael Russell finished as the runner-up, 40 seconds behind, with third place going to Andy Lawson.

Cowton was fastest on the opening lap at 119.659mph, which gave him an 11-second lead over Sweeney with Ulsterman Stephen McKnight in third.
He held the lead with a second lap at 118.926mph but an efficient refuelling pit stop from Sweeney's team saw him close the gap by an estimated six seconds as 2009 Manx GP Senior race winner Russell moved into the top three.
However, Cowton again put the hammer down on the third lap to establish a lead of 25 seconds over Sweeney, with Russell still holding third.
Victory seemed assured on the fourth and last lap, but Cowton was reported to have run out of fuel at The Nook, gifting victory to Co Dublin rider Sweeney.
In the Newcomers A race, Christopher Dixon took the honours by almost 23 seconds from Connor Behan on the Vauxhall KMR Kawasaki despite picking up a 30-second time penalty for speeding in pit lane.

Callum Collister won the B race from fellow Manxman Joe Faragher, who was also riding for Ryan Farquhar's Vauxhall KMR Kawasaki team.

Collister set a new lap record for the class at 110.59mph as he sealed the win by 40 seconds, giving the Martin Bullock Manxsport team its 30th Manx GP race success.

Ireland's Ben Rea eased to victory in the C race by well in excess of one minute from Richard Wilson after fellow countryman David Howard retired on lap three.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Michael Sweeney
Michael Dunlop on the Team Classic Suzuki XR69 during the Classic Superbike race at the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop on the Black Eagle MV Agusta at the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop on the Black Eagle MV Agusta at the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop on the Team Classic Suzuki XR69 at the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop on the Team Classic Suzuki XR69 during practice for the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop
Ian Hutchinson leads Michael Dunlop in the Superbike class at the Ulster Grand Prix.
Ian Hutchinson celebrates his four wins at the Ulster Grand Prix.
Michael Dunlop
Michael Dunlop in action at the Armoy Road Races.
Michael Dunlop at the Southern 100
Michael Dunlop at the Southern 100.
Senior TT race winner Michael Dunlop, runner-up Ian Hutchinson and John McGuinness
Michael Dunlop on the Hawk Racing BMW in the Senior TT.
Michael Dunlop on the Street Sweep Yamaha R6 at the Isle of Man TT.
James Hillier on the Muc-Off Quattro Plant Kawasaki.
Michael Rutter on the Bathams SMT BMW at the Isle of Man TT

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.