RR »

Dunlop fastest of Honda TT Legends riders on day one

'I'm learning the track and we're making good progress with the bike' - Michael Dunlop
Michael Dunlop made an instant impact on his debut at Le Mans yesterday, setting the fastest lap by the Honda TT Legends team ahead of the famous 24 Hours race.

Dunlop lapped in 1m 39.486s, but his time did not count towards the team's provisional qualifying position of eighth place as the Ulsterman was the fourth listed rider.

The team's other riders, John McGuinness, Michael Rutter and Simon Andrews, combined to provide an average time of 1m 39.794s, with only 0.1s preventing the team from securing a top five position.

Seven-time Isle of Man TT winner Dunlop said: “It's been a good day for the team overall as we achieved what we set out to achieve. I'm learning the track and we're making good progress with the bike.

“We just need to find a bit more tomorrow to get a bit higher on the time-sheet.”

McGuinness added: “A good start really. We're definitely in the ball park. All four riders are within 0.4 of each other and we can only improve so I think we'll be in a good strong position to start the race.

“The weather was good, the bike is good and the team is in great spirits.”
Final qualifying concludes today.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Michael Dunlop
Guy Martin on the Honda Fireblade at the Isle of Man TT.
Dean Harrison, Dan Kneen and Michael Dunlop at the Southern 100.
Michael Dunlop at the Classic TT
Dean Harrison on the Silicone Engineering Kawasaki in the Senior TT.
Peter Hickman in the Senior TT on the Smiths BMW.
Michael Dunlop on the Bennetts Suzuki in the Senior TT.
Bruce Anstey on his way to victory in the TT Zero race.
Guy Martin on the Honda Racing Superbike.
Jochem van den Hoek.
Michael Rutter took victory in the Lightweight TT on the Italian Paton.
Dan Kneen celebrates with his team after sealing his maiden Isle of Man TT rostrum in the Superstock race.
Ian Hutchinson celebrates his Superstock victory.
Ian Hutchinson on his way to victory in the Superstock TT on the Tyco BMW.
Davey Lambert in the RST Superbike race.
A Sidecar narrowly missed spectators in an incident that was captured in a video posted on YouTube.
James Hillier on the JG Speedfit Kawasaki in the opening Supersport TT race.
Michael Dunlop in the Supersport TT.

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.