RR »

Macau Grand Prix: Macau: Hutchinson surprised by pole feat

'I'm pleased it's come out like this and it's nice to get praise from all the riders. I've had a lot of support' - Ian Hutchinson
Ian Hutchinson admitted his surprise after claiming pole position for Saturday's 47th Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix on his return to competitive action.

The Yorkshire star grabbed the top spot by five hundredths of a second from eight-time winner Michael Rutter in the closing stages of final qualifying.

Milwaukee Yamaha rider Hutchy, who is competing for the first time since the 2012 Isle of Man TT after undergoing further surgery on his damaged left leg this year, said big changes to the front and rear of the YZF-R1 made all the difference as he secured pole.

“We made quite a big change from yesterday front and rear, as we've been really struggling, really trying hard,” he said.

“Towards the end of the session I thought the track felt better than yesterday, so I knew it had to be the changes we made.

“So I took the risk that we'd get it back how it was in time. It took about 15 minutes so I had about four minutes, a lap, to go.

“I never expected to get pole but I was hoping for a front row start,” added Hutchinson.

“I'm pleased it's come out like this and it's nice to get praise from all the riders. I've had a lot of support.”

Hutchinson and SMT Honda rider Rutter are joined on the front row by John McGuinness on the Honda TT Legends Fireblade, who was 1.8 seconds down on the front two for the 15-lap race.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Milwaukee Yamaha`s Ian Hutchinson
Ivan Lintin during practice for the Lightweight TT in 2014
John McGuinness at the Isle of Man TT in 2014
Ian Lougher at the Classic TT in 2014
David Johnson will make his debut at the Classic TT in 2014
Danny Webb in action at the 2014 Isle of Man TT
Connor Behan in action at the 2014 Isle of Man TT
Lee Johnston in action at the 2014 Isle of Man TT
William Dunlop will ride a rotary Norton at the Classic TT
Dean Harrison will ride for Black Eagle Racing at the 2015 Classic TT
Lee Johnston will ride for Black Eagle Racing at the 2015 Classic TT
Cameron Donald will again ride for Norton at the Isle of Man TT in 2015
Mugen riders John McGuinness and Bruce Anstey at the 2014 Isle of Man TT
Robbin Harms and Isle of Man TT rider liaison officer Richard Quayle on the TT circuit
Michael Dunlop at the 2014 Isle of Man TT
Honda Racing`s John McGuinness joined fellow Honda riders to take part in an assessment day at the English Institute of Sport – the organisation behind much of Team GB’s outstanding success at the London 2012 Olympics
John McGuinness and Conor Cummins back with Honda for TT 2015
Derek McGee will make his TT debut in 2015 after signing for Wilson Craig Racing

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.


November 17, 2013 8:26 AM

An absolutely stunning comeback from the horrific situation he has faced over the last 3 years. Truth is we the spectators are the winners today as we now have a whole different season of road racing to consider the outcomes for in 2014. Absolutely fantastic though and a testament to a true sportmans dedication. Long may this continue! :-D

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.