RR »

Macau Grand Prix: No cloud nine for Rutter

'That was definitely one of my toughest rides around here with the heat and the pace of the race' - Michael Rutter
Michael Rutter was denied a ninth victory at the Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix after Ian Hutchinson sealed a stunning win on his racing return after a long spell on the sidelines.

Hutchinson passed Gary Johnson before overhauling SMT Honda rider Rutter, pulling away to open a lead of more than two seconds before the race was stopped on lap 13 of 15 after a crash involving newcomer Dean Harrison.

Rutter had closed the gap to 1.7s but once the pair encountered slower riders Hutchinson extended his advantage prior to the red flag incident with two laps remaining.

“That was definitely one of my toughest rides around here with the heat and the pace of the race. I knew after qualifying that Hutchy was very strong so when Gary took the early lead, I tried as hard as I could to get by him and open up a gap,” said Rutter.

“We were all pretty evenly matched though and I wasn't surprised when Ian came by. I tried to stay with him but he was able to pull out a gap straightaway and from there on it was very tough.

“I was able to make a bit of time up here and there but lost a bit elsewhere so I kind of knew that's how the race was going to end,” he added.

“I got held up quite a bit by the backmarkers and had to go down to the first gear and follow them until I could get by but it probably wouldn't have made a difference.

“Fair play to Ian though, he's been through a lot these last few years and he deserved the win.

“It's a shame I couldn't defend the title for SMT Racing this time around but thanks to Robin [Croft] and the entire team for doing a great job.”

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Michael Rutter leads Ian Hutchinson at the Macau Grand Prix
Action from the 2015 North West 200.
Michael Rutter celebrates winning the 350cc Classic TT
Michael Dunlop, Bruce Anstey and Ryan Farquhar were the top three in the Formula 1 race at the Classic TT
Dan Cooper and Michael Rutter in the 350cc Classic TT
Michael Dunlop won the Formula 1 Classic TT on the Team Classic Suzuki
Michael Rutter on the Ripley Land Racing Honda at the Classic TT
Michael Rutter on the Ripley Land Honda
Michael Dunlop and Michael Rutter at the Classic TT
Michael Dunlop on the Team Classic Suzuki at the Classic TT
Ian Lougher on the Winfield Paton at the Classic TT
Michael Dunlop on the Team Classic Suzuki at the Classic TT
Lee Johnston, Peter Hickman and Michael Dunlop on the Superstock podium at the Ulster Grand Prix
Ian Hutchinson on the PBM Kawasaki
Michael Dunlop won the feature Superbilke race the Armoy Road Races from Guy Martin and Dean Harrison
Guy Martin, Michael Dunlop and Dean Harrison on the Senior Race podium at the Southern 100
Guy Martin leads Michael Dunlop at the Southern 100
Ian Hutchinson on the Senior TT podium.

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.