RR »

Road Racer of the Year vote - 3rd: Ian Hutchinson

You vote Ian Hutchinson 3rd in Crash.net's Road Racer of the Year poll
Top 10 Road Racers of the Year 2013:
3. Ian Hutchinson

Country: England
Team: Milwaukee Yamaha

2013 Results:
NW200 Wins: Did not compete

TT Wins: Did not compete

Ulster Grand Prix Wins: Did not compete

Ian Hutchinson made a victorious return after a lengthy spell out injured to secure a dream win at the Macau Grand Prix in November.

It was Hutchinson's first race in almost 18 months and the Yorkshireman excelled on the Milwaukee Yamaha YZF-R1 , taking pole position at Macau before seeing off eight-time winner Michael Rutter to claim the spoils in the Far East with a stunning performance.

Delighted team owner Shaun Muir believes the 34-year-old is back to his very best and Hutchinson – famed for an historic Isle of Man TT five-timer in 2010 – will be bursting with confidence ahead of the 2014 international roads season in the wake of his heroics at Macau.

Whether or not the quietly-spoken Bingley man can reproduce that form at the North West 200, TT and Ulster Grand Prix next season remains to be seen, but the manner of his magnificent success on his competitive comeback certainly suggests that 'Hutchy' will be a force to be reckoned with once more on the Mountain Course.

He was ruled out for the bulk of the 2013 season but Hutchinson's sole race victory at Macau was something special on his competitive return and Crash.net viewers were suitably impressed, voting the tenacious racer into third place in our Top Ten Road Racers of the Year poll.

Do you agree the poll results? If not, why not? Leave your comments below...

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Ian Hutchinson on the rostrum at the Macau Grand Prix
Michael Dunlop on the Team Classic Suzuki XR69 at the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop on the Team Classic Suzuki XR69 during practice for the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop
Gary Johnson
Ian Lougher, Dean Harrison and Lee Johnston in the winners` enclosure following the 2015 500cc Classic TT
Tyco BMW`s Ian Hutchinson
Bruce Anstey on the YZR500 Yamaha at the Classic TT.
Ian Hutchinson leads Michael Dunlop in the Superbike class at the Ulster Grand Prix.
Ian Hutchinson celebrates his four wins at the Ulster Grand Prix.
Michael Dunlop
Steve Mercer
David Johnson
Michael Dunlop in action at the Armoy Road Races.
Peter Hickman on the GBmoto Kawasaki.
Michael Dunlop at the Southern 100
Michael Dunlop at the Southern 100.
Senior TT race winner Michael Dunlop, runner-up Ian Hutchinson and John McGuinness

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.