RR »

NW200: Michael Dunlop tops Superstock times

Ulsterman Michael Dunlop grabs pole on BMW S1000RR for Superstock races at North West 200 from Alastair Seeley
Michael Dunlop squeezed out Alastair Seeley to secure pole position for the Superstock races at the North West 200.

The 25-year-old put in a blistering lap on his MD Racing BMW S1000RR at 120.093mph to take the number one position by a few hundredths of a second from fellow Northern Ireland rider Seeley.

British Supersport star Seeley was a winner in the class at the North West in 2013 and a mouth-watering race is in prospect at the 8.9-mile Triangle circuit on Thursday evening between the pair.

British Superbike veteran Michael Rutter was also in close contention in third place on the Bathams BMW, followed by Yeovil man Martin Jessopp, Simon Andrews on the Ice Valley BMW and Austrian rider Horst Saiger (Kawasaki), who led the way on Tuesday.

New Zealand's Bruce Anstey (Valvoline Padgett's Honda), Conor Cummins (Honda), Gary Johnson on the Lincs Lifting Kawasaki and Ulsterman Stephen Thompson on the second of the Bathams BMW machines completed the top ten.

The first Superstock race takes place at the coastal circuit on Thursday evening following qualifying, with the opening Supersport and Supertwin events also being held.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Michael Dunlop
Michael Dunlop (Superbike) at Southern 100 (Pic: apex-photos.com)
Senior TT race winner Michael Dunlop
Michael Dunlop on the BMW Motorrad S1000RR in the Senior TT
Michael Dunlop, Conor Cummins and Guy Martin on the Senior TT podium
Michael Rutter on the Smiths Triumph
William Dunlop on the Tyco Suzuki Supersport machine at the Isle of Man TT
Michael Dunlop lines up at the start of the second Supersport TT race
Bruce Anstey and Michael Dunlop shake hands at the Isle of Man TT after the second Supersport race
Michael Dunlop on his MD Racing Honda in the Supersport TT
Michael Dunlop on the MD Racing BMW at the Isle of Man TT
Michael Dunlop, Dean Harrison and Bruce Anstey on the Superstock TT rostrum
Michael Dunlop and Bruce Anstey - 2014 Superstock TT (Apex-photos.com)
Bruce Anstey - 2014 Superstock TT (Apex-photos.com)
Gary Johnson and Bruce Anstey
Michael Dunlop celebrates victory in the Superbike TT
Michael Dunlop, Guy Martin and Conor Cummins on the Superbike TT podium
Michael Dunlop starts the Superbike TT

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2014 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.