RR »

NW200: Anstey victorious in dramatic Supersport race

Bruce Anstey claims his tenth win at the North West 200 in a dramatic Supersport race as Alastair Seeley and Lee Johnston collide on final lap
Bruce Anstey recorded his tenth victory at the North West 200 in a dramatic Supersport race.

The veteran New Zealander capitalised as Lee Johnston and Alastair Seeley collided at Metropole corner on the sixth and final lap, with both crashing out as they disputed the lead.

Manx rider Conor Cummins finished as the runner-up on the Jackson Racing Honda only 0.188 seconds behind, with Gary Johnson pinching a rostrum finish on the Smiths Triumph, 19 seconds behind the leaders.

Aussie Josh Brookes finished a distant fourth ahead of Michael Dunlop, Michael Rutter and William Dunlop.

Rain fell intermittently throughout the race and Johnson was the early leader from Anstey, Lee Johnston, Cummins, Brookes, and Seeley, who won Thursday's Supersport race.

Johnston – a winner in the Supersport class on Thursday as he earned his maiden North West 200 victory – moved to into the lead at Ballysally on lap three from Gary Johnson, Anstey, Seeley and Cummins as Brookes began to fall back.

Seeley moved into second on the Mar-Train Yamaha on lap four as the 34-year-old turned up the heat in his bid to claim his 13th win but couldn't shake off Johnston, while Anstey and Cummins remained within striking distance.

The pair swapped places on the penultimate lap and on the final lap Seeley had the advantage at York hairpin, closely pursued by Johnston with Anstey and Cummins next. Gary Johnson was a lonely fourth with Brookes on his own in fifth.

At Ballysally, Anstey on the Valvoline Padgett's Honda took the lead for the first time as Seeley dropped to third behind Johnston.

However, on the final run to Portrush Seeley and Johnston were challenging for the lead and the pair touched as they braked into Metropole, with both riders tumbling out.

Anstey pounced to take the lead and held off Cummins for a popular victory, with a delighted Johnson putting the Smiths Triumph on the podium.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Bruce Anstey on Clive Padgett`s Honda Fireblade at the Isle of Man TT in 2012
Bruce Anstey on his way to victory in the TT Zero race.
Bruce Anstey on the Padgett`s Honda RC213V-S during Isle of Man TT practice.
Bruce Anstey on the Padgett`s Honda RCV213V-S during practice for the Isle of Man TT.
Bruce Anstey on the Mugen machine at TT 2016.
Alastair Seeley leads his Tyco BMW team-mate Ian Hutchinson in the Superbike race at the North West 200.
Glenn Irwin won the feature Superbike race at the North West 200.
Alastair Seeley on the Tyco BMW Superstock machine at the North West 200.
Glenn Irwin on the PBM Ducati at the North West 200.
Michael Rutter on the Bathams BMW at the North West 200
Alastair Seeley on the Tyco BMW at the North West 200.
Michael Dunlop on the Bennetts Suzuki at the North West 200
Alastair Seeley on the Tyco BMW at the North West 200.
Michael Rutter with Ryan Farquhar and Jeremy McWilliams at the North West 200 in 2012.
Bruce Anstey on the Padgetts Honda FIreblade.
Lee Johnston has teamed up with Ryan Farquhar to race a KMR Kawasaki in the NI Air Ambulance colours at the North West 200 and Isle of Man TT.
Alastair Seeley with the Tyco BMW he will race at the North West 200.
Action from the 2016 North West 200

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.