RR »

Ulster GP: Guy Martin supreme in Dundrod 150 feature race

Tyco Suzuki's Guy Martin scored a narrow win over Bruce Anstey in the Dundrod 150 Superbike race to begin his quest for more Ulster Grand Prix glory in style
Guy Martin maintained his magnificent record at the Ulster Grand Prix as the Tyco Suzuki star wrapped up victory in the Dundrod 150 Superbike race on Thursday evening.

Martin, who started from pole position, led for much of the race but was hounded by Valvoline Padgetts Honda rider Bruce Anstey throughout the five laps, with Michael Dunlop on the BMW Motorrad S1000RR never quite able to land a blow on the leaders.

Anstey shadowed Martin over the first three laps before making his move on lap four to hit the front for the first time, but Martin was quickly back in control, leading once more on the final circuit at the Deer's Leap.

The Kirmington man posted the fastest speed of the race at 133.313mph to stay one step ahead of Anstey as he began his preparations for the main bill on Saturday in perfect style.

Martin's winning margin at the flag was only 0.242 seconds over Anstey, with Dunlop 2.459 seconds adrift of the winner in third.

Dean Harrison clinched a superb fourth place on the RC Express Kawasaki, with the top six completed by Lee Johnston on the Pirtek Honda and Tyco Suzuki's William Dunlop.

Newcomer Peter Hickman was an impressive seventh on the Ice Valley BMW Superstock machine, coming home ahead of Steve Mercer, Ian Hutchinson and Dan Kneen.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Guy Martin on the Tyco Suzuki at the Ulster Grand Prix
Bruce Anstey on the Mugen machine at TT 2016.
Alastair Seeley leads his Tyco BMW team-mate Ian Hutchinson in the Superbike race at the North West 200.
Honda Racing riders John McGuinness and Guy Martin
Guy Martin on the Wilson Craig Honda.
Bruce Anstey on the Padgetts Honda FIreblade.
Guy Martin on the 2017 Honda Racing Fireblade SP2
Guy Martin on the Honda Racing Fireblade SP2
Guy Martin, John McGuinness Honda Racing, [Credit: Honda Racing]
Guy Martin, Honda Racing, [Credit: Honda Racing]
Peter Hickman won the Macau Grand Prix for the second year running on the Bathams/SMT BMW.
Glenn Irwin on the PBM Ducati at the Macau Grand Prix.
Glenn Irwin on the PBM Be Wiser Ducati at the Macau Grand Prix.
Peter Hickman on the Bathams/SMT BMW at the Macau Grand Prix.
Peter Hickman on the Bathams/SMT BMW at the Macau Grand Prix.
Peter Hickman in action at the 50th Macau Grand Prix on the Bathams/SMT BMW.
Michael Rutter on the Bathams/SMT BMW at the Macau Grand Prix.
Martin Jessopp on the Riders Motorcycles BMW at the Macau Grand Prix.

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.