RR »

Ulster GP: Anstey wins as Dunlop breaks down

Kiwi Bruce Anstey notched his ninth Ulster Grand Prix victory in the opening Supersport race as leader William Dunlop breaks down on final lap
Bruce Anstey sealed his ninth victory at the Metzeler Ulster Grand Prix after a dramatic final lap in the opening Supersport race at Dundrod.

The Kiwi had been locked in a duel with Tyco Suzuki's William Dunlop and a thrilling finale seemed in prospect until the GSX-R600 machine expired.

Anstey was left in total control and went on to take the win from Northern Ireland's Lee Johnston in a comfortable second place on the Pirtek Honda, 6.441 seconds in arrears with Guy Martin on the second Tyco Suzuki a lonely third, 18.757 seconds behind the winner.

The race had been red-flagged earlier in the day after an incident involving three riders, none of whom were reported to have sustained serious injuries.

Michael Dunlop on the MD Racing Honda and Milwaukee Yamaha's Ian Hutchinson both retired from the race.

Ivan Lintin finished in fourth place with James Cowton – who won the Lightweight race by half a minute on his 250cc Yamaha – taking fifth and Russ Mountford completing the first six.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Bruce Anstey on the Padgetts Honda
Michael Dunlop won the feature Superbilke race the Armoy Road Races from Guy Martin and Dean Harrison
Glenn Irwin and Christian Elkin with Ulster GP Clerk of the Course, Noel Johnston, and Supertwins race sponsors Maxwell Freight
Steve Plater with Bruce Charman of Prime Factors
Guy Martin celebrates winning the Solo Championship race with Dan Kneen andIvan Lintin
Guy Martin at the Southern 100
Guy Martin, BMW, [Credit: BMW]
Guy Martin, Michael Dunlop and Dean Harrison on the Senior Race podium at the Southern 100
Guy Martin leads Michael Dunlop at the Southern 100
Guy Martin on the Tyco BMW at the Southern 100
Guy Martin on the Tyco BMW at the Southern 100
Guy Martin on the Tyco BMW in the Senior TT
Ian Hutchinson on the Senior TT podium.
Ian Hutchinson on the PBM Kawasaki in the Senior TT.
John McGuinness celebrates his Senior TT victory with runner-up James Hillier and Ian Hutchinson
Ian Hutchinson on the TCC Yamaha at the Isle of Man TT
Guy Martin on the Smiths Triumph at the Isle of Man TT
Ian Hutchinson on the TCC Yamaha at the Isle of Man TT

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.