RR »

Ulster GP: Anstey reigns in feature Superbike race

Outright lap record holder Bruce Anstey celebrates his 10th Ulster Grand Prix victory after a scintillating dice with Guy Martin to win the big one at Dundrod on the Valvoline Padgetts Honda
New Zealand's Bruce Anstey timed his move to perfection on the final lap of the feature Superbike race at the Metzeler Ulster Grand Prix to wrap up his 10th victory at the event.

Tyco Suzuki's Guy Martin held the lead at the beginning of the final lap, but Anstey on the Valvoline Padgetts Honda hit the front on the brakes into Tornagrough and was able to repel Martin's advances on the run to the finish line.

It was Anstey's second victory of the day after the Kiwi triumphed in the opening Supersport race as he denied Lincolnshire star Martin his 12th Ulster GP win.

Fermanagh's Lee Johnston followed up his runner-up finish in the Supersport race with a fine third place on the Pirtek Honda ahead of BMW Motorrad's Michael Dunlop.

Ulsterman Dunlop could do nothing about Anstey and Martin despite his best efforts on the S1000RR and the Isle of Man TT titan finished out of the podium places in fourth.

There was huge disappointment for Tyco Suzuki's William Dunlop, whose machine was pushed off the line moments before the start of the race.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Bruce Anstey at the Isle of Man TT
Gary Johnson and Ryan Farquhar during practice for the Lightweight TT
Guy Martin at the North West 200
Guy Martin on the Tyco BMW at the Scarborough Spring Cup meeting
Guy Martin leads Michael Dunlop at the Cookstown 100
Guy Martin in action at Scarborough
Ivan Lintin during practice for the Lightweight TT in 2014
Guy Martin testing the Tyco BMW at Almeria in Spain
John McGuinness at the Isle of Man TT in 2014
Ian Lougher at the Classic TT in 2014
Tyco BMW rider Guy Martin
David Johnson will make his debut at the Classic TT in 2014
Danny Webb in action at the 2014 Isle of Man TT
Connor Behan in action at the 2014 Isle of Man TT
Lee Johnston in action at the 2014 Isle of Man TT
William Dunlop will ride a rotary Norton at the Classic TT
Dean Harrison will ride for Black Eagle Racing at the 2015 Classic TT
Lee Johnston will ride for Black Eagle Racing at the 2015 Classic TT

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.