RR »

Classic TT: Lougher defies odds to seal 500cc spoils

Ian Lougher overcame a 30-second time penalty to win the Bennetts 500cc Classic TT Race on the Isle of Man from Dan Cooper and Bruce Anstey
Comeback hero Ian Lougher bounced back to recover from a 30-second time penalty to win the Bennetts 500cc race at the Classic TT.

'Lucky' Lougher capitalised as race leaders including John McGuinness, Ryan Farquhar and Michael Rutter all retired from the race due to mechanical issues.

Lougher was hit with the penalty after speeding in pit lane after coming in for his pit stop on the Flitwick Motorcycles Paton, which is the same machine Olie Linsdell rode to victory in the corresponding race last year.

Linsdell did a straight swap with the veteran rider for the race, but suffered a setback when the Royal Enfield developed a crack in the frame, ruling him out of the race.

McGuinness was the early leader by eight seconds on the Winfield Paton on lap one at Glen Helen, but his race was over at Ginger Hall, where the TT star came to an abrupt halt due to a front brake issue.

McGuinness's team-mate Ryan Farquhar was holding third place, less than a second behind Lougher.

Farquhar soon hit the front and established a 2.5 second lead over Lougher by Ramsey with Dan Cooper on the Molnar Manx Norton moving into the top three, 20 seconds behind the race leader.

Both Farquhar and Lougher were the only riders who elected to pit for refuelling at the end of the first lap with Farquhar's 109.826mph average giving him a lead of almost six and a half seconds over Lougher. However, Lougher's 30 second penalty dropped him to eighth at the start of lap two.

Cooper was the new leader following Farquhar's pit stop, less than a second ahead of Rutter on the Seeley G50 Matchless.

By the time they reached Ballaugh, Rutter had moved ahead with Farquhar having made up time after his pit looming less than seven seconds back in third. Norton riders Michael Dunlop (Molnar Manx) and Bruce Anstey (McIntosh Norton) were having a real head to head for fourth place with the pair swapping places over the Mountain Course.

That remained the top three at the end of the second lap with Rutter's 109.102mph, the fastest single cylinder Mountain Course lap, giving him a lead of almost eight seconds from Farquhar (106.397mph) who held a 1.6 second lead over Cooper with Dunlop holding fourth, two seconds in front of Anstey.

However, it was all change again on a sensational lap three with Farquhar stopping at Sulby Crossroads and Rutter retiring on the Mountain Mile, which meant that at the end of the third lap, Dan Cooper was 13 seconds ahead of Lougher, who had moved back through the field with a third lap of 110.550mph to keep a Paton on the podium.

Kiwi Anstey edged ahead of Dunlop into third by the grandstand but Dunlop came into the pits at the end of the third and retired.

Lougher was on a charge on the fourth lap and by Glen Helen had cut Cooper's lead to only two seconds. The 10-times TT winner moved into the lead at the next checkpoint at Ballaugh Bridge with a lead of nine seconds and brought the bike home with a final lap of 111.523mph, which gave him victory by 34 seconds from Cooper with Bruce Anstey taking the final podium place.

Cheshire's Connor Behan, riding a '61 Norton, finished fourth with Maria Costello on the Peter Beugger Paton completing the top five.

Nine times TT winner Charlie Williams, in his first competitive race on the Mountain Course since 1984, finished a credible ninth with the added bonus of a 100mph lap on the second lap of the race, his first of the week.

Veteran competitor Dave Madsen-Mygdal, riding a Team Gimbert Honda, was the first privateer to finish in seventh.

William Dunlop was also among the retirements on the Davies Motorsport Honda on lap one at Ballacraine with Roy Richardson and Alan Oversby also experiencing problems.

Andrew Ryder came off at Joey's on the Mountain section and was airlifted to Nobles Hospital but it was reported that his injuries weren't serious.

The four-lap race was delayed by an hour and a half until 2pm due to wet roads.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Ian Lougher at the Classic TT
Bruce Anstey on his way to victory in the TT Zero race.
Ian Hutchinson celebrates his Superstock victory.
Ian Hutchinson on his way to victory in the Superstock TT on the Tyco BMW.
Ian Hutchinson celebrates his victory in the RST Superbike race at the Isle of Man TT.
Ian Hutchinson on the Tyco BMW in the RST Superbike race.
Bruce Anstey on the Padgett`s Honda RC213V-S during Isle of Man TT practice.
Ian Hutchinson on the Tyco BMW during practice for the Isle of Man TT.
Bruce Anstey on the Padgett`s Honda RCV213V-S during practice for the Isle of Man TT.
Ian Hutchinson on the Tyco BMW during practice for the Isle of Man TT.
Ian Hutchinson
Tyco BMW rider Ian Hutchinson
Bruce Anstey on the Mugen machine at TT 2016.
Alastair Seeley leads his Tyco BMW team-mate Ian Hutchinson in the Superbike race at the North West 200.
Honda Racing riders John McGuinness and Guy Martin
Michael Rutter with Ryan Farquhar and Jeremy McWilliams at the North West 200 in 2012.
Bruce Anstey on the Padgetts Honda FIreblade.
Lee Johnston has teamed up with Ryan Farquhar to race a KMR Kawasaki in the NI Air Ambulance colours at the North West 200 and Isle of Man TT.

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

Related Stories

    Data not found

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.