RR »

Road Racer of the Year vote: 4th - Dean Harrison

You place Dean Harrison fourth in our Road Racer of the Year poll...
4th – Dean Harrison
Average poll score out of ten: 7.32
Team: RC Express Racing/Mar-Train Yamaha
NW200 wins: 0
Podiums: 0
Isle of Man TT wins: 1
Podiums: 1
Ulster Grand Prix wins: 0
Podiums: 1

Bradford's Dean Harrison lived up to his billing as one of the most exciting young talents in road racing after a stunning season.

The 25-year-old was in terrific form on the RC Express Kawasaki machines and secured his first Isle of Man TT victory with a dominant win in the Lightweight race.

Harrison also finished as the runner-up in the Superstock race behind Michael Dunlop and added a brace of fourth place finishes in the Supersport events on the Mar-Train Racing Yamaha.

He was forced out of the Senior race with a technical problem after running as high as fifth and finished ninth in the Superbike opener.

Clearly on a roll after an excellent TT, Harrison stole the show at the Southern 100, powering to an incredible five-timer that included doubles in the Superbike and Supersport races and a win over James Cowton by 0.001 seconds in the Supertwin class.

He established a new Supersport lap record of 110.431mph on the Mar-Train Yamaha and looked destined to seal a stunning week with a win in the feature Solo Championship race, only to lose out narrowly to Guy Martin in the closing stages when the Tyco Suzuki star capitalised as the pair encountered slower riders.

Harrison, though, had the consolation of a new lap record at 114.601mph.
He was also in red-hot form at the Ulster Grand Prix, finishing second in the Superstock race behind Dan Kneen after one of the closest finishes in the history of the Dundrod meeting.

However, a crash in the Supersport race ruled him out of the remainder of the event and Harrison missed the Classic TT, Scarborough Gold Cup and Macau Grand Prix.

Do you agree the poll results? If not, why not? Leave your comments below...

About the vote:
Over 45,000 votes were cast for the 2014 Crash.net Road Racer of the Year poll, where viewers awarded a shortlist of 15 of this season's most impressive riders with a mark out of ten.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Dean Harrison on the RC Express Kawasaki

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.