RR »

Road Racer of the Year vote: 1st - Michael Dunlop

You place Michael Dunlop first in our Road Racer of the Year poll...
1st – Michael Dunlop
Average poll score out of ten: 8.5
Team: BMW Motorrad/Hawk Racing/MD Racing
NW200 wins: 2
Podiums: 3
Isle of Man TT wins: 4
Podiums: 1
Ulster Grand Prix wins: 0
Podiums: 0

Michael Dunlop defied the odds to boost his tally of Isle of Man TT victories to 11 after his second consecutive four-timer on the Mountain Course in 2014.

The 25-year-old from Ballymoney parted company from Honda and teamed up with BMW to ride the S1000RR Superbike, delivering the famous German marque's first victory in the blue riband class in 75 years to cap the anniversary of Georg Meier's 1939 Senior triumph in perfect style.

Dunlop, who set a new Senior TT lap record of 131.668mph on his way to victory over Conor Cummins, also won the Superbike and Superstock races for BMW to complete a clean sweep of the 1000cc classes on the S1000RR and added a win in the second Supersport race on his MD Racing Honda to confirm his status as the new number one at the greatest road race in the world.

The Ulster star had to settle for third place in the opening Supersport race but it was another week to remember for Dunlop at the TT and he is now level with countryman Phillip McCallen and Steve Hislop on 11 wins – only three behind Mountain great Mike 'The Bike' Hailwood.

Dunlop began the international roads campaign in ominous fashion at the North West 200, winning the feature Superbike and Superstock races and taking podium results in the first Superbike and Superstock events plus a runner-up finish in the Supertwin class.

However, he endured a disappointing day by his standards at the Ulster Grand Prix, where he failed to make it onto the podium at the world's fastest road race and also had no answer to Guy Martin and Dean Harrison at the Southern 100 in July.

He made limited appearances at the Irish national road races but clinched the honours in the main Superbike races at the Armoy and Killalane meetings.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Senior TT race winner Michael Dunlop

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.