RR »

Honda retains McGuinness, Cummins for TT 2015

“I'm ready to put 2014 behind me and get back to the business of winning races” - John McGuinness.
Honda Motor Europe has retained John McGuinness and Conor Cummins for its 2015 road racing campaign with the official Honda Racing team.

The 'Morecambe Missile' and the 'Ramsey Rocket' will contest the RST Superbike and PokerStars Senior races at the Isle of Man TT and the Superbike races at the North West 200.

21-time TT winner McGuinness had a frustrating 2014 season after suffering a broken scaphoid while training on his off-road machine. That left McGuinness to settle for top-ten places in the Superbike and PokerStars Senior TT races, plus a consolation victory in the SES TT Zero electric bike event.

2015 will see McGuinness ready to prove he's still the man to beat on the Mountain course.

"There's no denying that 2014 was a tough year for me,” McGuinness said. “It shook my confidence and held me back but I'm ready to put it all behind me and get back to the business of winning races. I've said it before but the Honda team is like family to me and that support means everything. I can't wait to get back on the bike and prove that there's life in the old dog yet."

Cummins made an impressive debut with Honda Racing in 2014, securing a brace of podium finishes at the NW200 andIsle of Man TT, including second place in the Blue Riband PokerStars Senior TT. The 28-year old Manxman is expected to be in the fight for race wins in 2015.

"2014 was a great year for me. I achieved a career-long dream in riding for the official Honda team and I just wanted to make the very most of the opportunity I'd been given. I'm thrilled to be staying with the team for 2015 and now that I have a season of experience on the Fireblade SP under my belt, I'm really looking forward to seeing what we can achieve. Hopefully we can bring home some good results."

"We're very happy to retain both John McGuinness and Conor Cummins for our 2015 road racing campaign,” added team manager Neil Tuxworth. “It goes without saying that our well-established relationship with John is proven to reap results. Last year was tough for him with his injury but he still got some good results. He's very determined and we have every confidence that he'll come back fighting. He is still very capable of winning races.

“Conor really impressed us in 2014, not just with the results, but also with his work ethic and attitude. He's hungry for success, yet incredibly humble and he really puts in the effort on and off the bike. We're delighted to have him on board for a second season. I believe we are in a very strong position for the 2015 road racing events."

In addition to their Honda Racing commitments, McGuinness and Cummins will compete for the privately-owned Jackson Racing team aboard CBR600RRs in the Supersport class at the NW200 and TT, as well as contesting the 2015 Endurance World Championship Superstock class aboard the Fireblade SP. Cummins will also compete for the team in the Superstock class on the roads.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
John McGuinness on the Honda Fireblade at the North West 200
Michael Dunlop on the Team Classic Suzuki XR69 during the Classic Superbike race at the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop on the Black Eagle MV Agusta at the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop on the Black Eagle MV Agusta at the Classic TT.
Bruce Anstey won the Lightweight race at the Classic TT on the Padgetts Honda RS250.
John McGuinness on the Winfield Paton at the Classic TT.
Bruce Anstey on the Padgetts RS250 Honda at the Classic TT.
Dean Harrison on the Silicone Engineering Kawasaki at the Classic TT.
Bruce Anstey on the Padgetts RS250 Honda at the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop on the Team Classic Suzuki XR69 at the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop on the Team Classic Suzuki XR69 during practice for the Classic TT.
Ian Lougher, Dean Harrison and Lee Johnston in the winners` enclosure following the 2015 500cc Classic TT
Bruce Anstey on the YZR500 Yamaha at the Classic TT.
Senior TT race winner Michael Dunlop, runner-up Ian Hutchinson and John McGuinness
Michael Dunlop on the Hawk Racing BMW in the Senior TT.
Ivan Lintin won the Lightweight TT on the Devitt RC Express Kawasaki.
Bruce Anstey, William Dunlop and Daley Mathison were the top three in the SES TT Zero race.
Bruce Anstey won the SES TT Zero race on the Mugen.

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.


January 08, 2015 1:14 AM

Tetley: BTW, at the weekend I heard a whisper that BMW were still talking to Mickey D . Could we see Mickey D on a works BMW going head-to-head with Guy Martin on a TAS works-supported BMW ? That would be a contest worth sailing to see.
If it happens, Micky wins hands down every time!


January 07, 2015 3:07 PM

@ Tetley "However, it is slightly worrying that in the photo McPint appears to be hiding substantial wrist strapping. When I spoke to him last year he showed me the scar from his scaphoid operation and said his wrist was healing nicely, so seeing the strapping may not be a good sign." I think that photo is from spring 2014 & McPint's wrist has fully healed now.

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.