RR »

Guy Martin on Smiths Triumph for TT Supersport races

Roads star adds Triumph Daytona 675 to stable of machines for 2015 Isle of Man TT

Guy Martin will ride for top British championship team Smiths Triumph in the Monster Energy Supersport races at the Isle of Man TT.

Martin, who compete for Tyco BMW in the Superbike and Superstock classes, will be joined by Aussie David Johnson in the team on the 675cc Daytona, who will also ride BMW machinery for the Gloucester outfit.

Gary Johnson gave the team a dream victory in the first Supersport race in 2014 and Martin is confident the Triumph will give him a strong change of a top result in June after a barren run in the class in recent years at the TT.

“I wanted the best tool for the job in the Supersport TTs so I rang Rebecca [Smith] and we ended up doing a deal,” Martin said.

“I reckon the Triumph is the bike to be on and I remember Gary Johnson passing me on the Sulby Straight on the Smiths Triumph last year. Alan and Rebecca are proper people who run a fantastic team and to win on their debut last year says a lot about them.

“I'm planning a few jobs with the Triumph after the TT also so I'm looking forward to getting the job sorted.”

Johnson, meanwhile, who last year achieved his best result of fourth place in the Superstock race and also recorded his fastest best lap at over 125.5mph, will ride a BMW S1000RR in the Smiths colours in the Superbike, Senior and Superstock races in addition to the Triumph for the four-lap Supersport events.

“I'm so happy that Rebecca and Alan Smith have chosen me to ride for them at TT 2015,” said Johnson. “This will be my fifth visit to the TT and after a decent year last year on the Island, I feel it's my time to be on machinery which is capable of being at the sharp end in every race.

“The Smith family and the whole team are all close friends of mine and have the expertise, skills and resources to build extremely competitive bikes so I think we have the complete package. I'm also happy to have a team mate like Guy Martin for the Supersport TTs.

“I'm sure we'll work really well together. I'm so grateful for this opportunity and I will do everything I can to get the best out of myself and to get the best results I possibly can for the whole Smiths team.”

The ambitious roads team, run by father and daughter duo Alan and Rebecca Smith, forms a part of the Gloucester-based firm which has enjoyed major success in recent years, including winning the 2012 and 2014 British Supersport championships with Aussies Glen Richards and Billy McConnell respectively.

This year, Smiths Racing have made the step up to the MCE British Superbike Championship with Billy McConnell riding a factory-supported BMW, while Graeme Gowland and Jake Dixon lead the charge in the Supersport series.

Tagged as: Guy Martin , Isle of Man TT

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Guy Martin - Relentless by TAS Suzuki
Michael Dunlop on the Team Classic Suzuki XR69 during the Classic Superbike race at the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop on the Black Eagle MV Agusta at the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop on the Black Eagle MV Agusta at the Classic TT.
Bruce Anstey won the Lightweight race at the Classic TT on the Padgetts Honda RS250.
John McGuinness on the Winfield Paton at the Classic TT.
Bruce Anstey on the Padgetts RS250 Honda at the Classic TT.
Dean Harrison on the Silicone Engineering Kawasaki at the Classic TT.
Bruce Anstey on the Padgetts RS250 Honda at the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop on the Team Classic Suzuki XR69 at the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop on the Team Classic Suzuki XR69 during practice for the Classic TT.
Ian Lougher, Dean Harrison and Lee Johnston in the winners` enclosure following the 2015 500cc Classic TT
Bruce Anstey on the YZR500 Yamaha at the Classic TT.
Senior TT race winner Michael Dunlop, runner-up Ian Hutchinson and John McGuinness
Michael Dunlop on the Hawk Racing BMW in the Senior TT.
Ivan Lintin won the Lightweight TT on the Devitt RC Express Kawasaki.
Bruce Anstey, William Dunlop and Daley Mathison were the top three in the SES TT Zero race.
Bruce Anstey won the SES TT Zero race on the Mugen.

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.