RR »

McGuinness retains number one plate for Isle of Man TT

TT start numbers confirmed with McGuinness setting off at number one and Michael Dunlop carrying the number three plate on the Milwaukee Yamaha for the Superbike and Senior races
John McGuinness will carry the number one plate once more in the RST Superbike and PokerStars Senior races at the Isle of Man TT in June.

The 21-times TT winner, who was hampered last year by a wrist injury, will lead the charge from the front on the Honda Racing Fireblade, with James Hillier on the Quattro Plant Bournemouth Kawasaki setting off ten seconds behind at number two.

New Milwaukee Yamaha signing Michael Dunlop comes next at number three as the 25-year-old attempts to sustain his incredible winning streak on the Mountain Course, which includes eight victories in the past two years after back-to-back four-timers.

Outright lap record holder Bruce Anstey, the only rider to crack the 132mph barrier at the TT, retains his traditional number five plate on the Valvoline Padgetts Honda as the Kiwi chases an elusive win in the Superbike class, setting off behind Michael Rutter (4), who is expected to ride a BMW in the Penz13.com team.

Ulsterman William Dunlop goes at number six on the all-new Tyco BMW and will be followed by double Supersport TT winner Gary Johnson (7) on the JG Speedfit GBMoto Kawasaki.

Guy Martin, who caused a stir in recent weeks after suggesting he could scale down his racing exploits in 2016 or even retire, carries the number eight plate on the second of the Tyco BMW machines.

The top ten is completed by PBM Kawasaki's Ian Hutchinson and Manx rider Conor Cummins (Honda Racing), who finished on the rostrum twice in the Superbike and Senior TT races in 2014.

Mar-Train Racing's Dean Harrison takes number 11 as the Bradford prospect rides another of the much-hyped new Yamaha YZF-R1s, while Scotsman Keith Amor will be giving chase as he returns to the 1000cc classes on the Rig Deluge BMW.

KMR Kawasaki team owner Ryan Farquhar, who also returns to the Superbike class this year, is at number 14 as he sets off behind Lee Johnston on the East Coast Construction BMW (13).

Another Manx rider, Dan Kneen, is down at number 15 although the Braddan man is still in the process of finalising his plans after his deal with Millsport Suzuki fell through.

Aussie David Johnson (16) on the Smiths BMW, sensational newcomer Peter Hickman (Briggs Equipment BMW) at 17, Dan Stewart on the Wilcock Consulting Honda (18), Norton's Cameron Donald and Steve Mercer on his privateer Honda are the top 20.

Entries closed for the 2015 Isle of Man TT closed last Friday and as in previous years, every class was oversubscribed, presenting the organisers with the huge headache of selecting who made the final start list.

The top 20 seeded riders have all lapped comfortably over 127mph, while the leading 70 riders have all lapped in excess of 120mph.

With 91 entrants targeting the 72 starting places that are up for grabs, this year's two six-lap races should be absolutely barnstorming affairs.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
John McGuinness on the Honda at the Isle of Man TT
Michael Dunlop on the Team Classic Suzuki XR69 during the Classic Superbike race at the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop on the Black Eagle MV Agusta at the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop on the Black Eagle MV Agusta at the Classic TT.
Bruce Anstey won the Lightweight race at the Classic TT on the Padgetts Honda RS250.
John McGuinness on the Winfield Paton at the Classic TT.
Bruce Anstey on the Padgetts RS250 Honda at the Classic TT.
Dean Harrison on the Silicone Engineering Kawasaki at the Classic TT.
Bruce Anstey on the Padgetts RS250 Honda at the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop on the Team Classic Suzuki XR69 at the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop on the Team Classic Suzuki XR69 during practice for the Classic TT.
Ian Lougher, Dean Harrison and Lee Johnston in the winners` enclosure following the 2015 500cc Classic TT
Tyco BMW`s Ian Hutchinson
Bruce Anstey on the YZR500 Yamaha at the Classic TT.
Ian Hutchinson leads Michael Dunlop in the Superbike class at the Ulster Grand Prix.
Ian Hutchinson celebrates his four wins at the Ulster Grand Prix.
Senior TT race winner Michael Dunlop, runner-up Ian Hutchinson and John McGuinness
Sidecar crew Ian and Carl Bell

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.