RR »

NW200: Seeley tops Supersport time sheets

Alastair Seeley follows up his Superstock pole by setting the fastest lap in the Supersport class to take the top spot on the Tyco Suzuki from Bruce Anstey
Alastair Seeley came out on top in the Supersport qualifying session on the Tyco Suzuki to take his second pole with a lap of 116.101mph.

William Dunlop had been leading the times on the CD/IC Racing Yamaha until a high-side at York corner brought out the red flags.

The session was re-started but Dunlop sat it out, though his lap of 115.506mph was still good enough for third behind Bruce Anstey on the Padgetts Honda (116.071mph).

Dunlop later went out in the Superbike session and was due to make a decision over whether or not he would participate in Thursday evening's Superstock and Supersport races.

British Supersport star Glenn Irwin was an excellent fourth fastest on the Gearlink Kawasaki (115.252mph) as he finished ahead of John McGuinness on the Jackson Racing Honda and Gary Johnson, who completes row two on the Mar-Train Yamaha R6.

Michael Dunlop was seventh on the MD Racing Yamaha followed by Michael Rutter (Gearlink Kawasaki).

Irwin's Gearlink Kawasaki team-mate Ben Wilson was 16th quickest as he too makes his North West 200 debut this week.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Alastair Seeley at the 2015 North West 200
Action from the 2016 North West 200
Bruce Anstey won the Lightweight race at the Classic TT on the Padgetts Honda RS250.
John McGuinness on the Winfield Paton at the Classic TT.
Bruce Anstey on the Padgetts RS250 Honda at the Classic TT.
Bruce Anstey on the Padgetts RS250 Honda at the Classic TT.
Bruce Anstey on the YZR500 Yamaha at the Classic TT.
Senior TT race winner Michael Dunlop, runner-up Ian Hutchinson and John McGuinness
Bruce Anstey, William Dunlop and Daley Mathison were the top three in the SES TT Zero race.
Bruce Anstey won the SES TT Zero race on the Mugen.
John McGuinness on the Honda Racing Fireblade at Ballacrye
John McGuinness on the Honda Racing Superbike during Isle of Man TT practice.
Bruce Anstey on the Honda RC213V-S during practice for the Isle of Man TT.
A unique collection of machines raced by John McGuinness at the Isle of Man TT will be on display in 2016 to mark his 20th anniversary of racing at the event.
Bruce Anstey is set to ride a Honda RC213V-S at the Isle of Man TT
Lee Johnston on the East Coast/Burdens Triumph at the North West 200.
Michael Rutter in action at the North West 200
John McGuinness on the Honda Racing Fireblade at the North West 200.

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.