RR »

TT 2015: Anstey sets Superbike pace to head McGuinness

Outright TT lap record holder Bruce Anstey topped the Superbike and Supersport practice sessions on the Isle of Man, setting the quickest lap overall on Wednesday at 128.641mph.
Bruce Anstey topped the Superbike TT leaderboard with the fastest lap of the night on the Valvoline Padgetts Honda on Wednesday night.

In good conditions on the Mountain Course, Anstey clocked a speed of 128.641mph on his second lap to narrowly edge out 21-times winner John McGuinness by less than a second, who lapped at 128.596mph on his second lap on the Honda Racing Fireblade.

After Monday's cancelled session and Tuesday's untimed qualifying run due to poor weather conditions, it was the first time the Superbike, Superstock and Supersport riders had the chance to complete their first laps in anger.

Yorkshire's Ian Hutchinson concentrated on his PBM Superbike machine and set the third fastest time at 128.300mph after completing four laps in total, setting the fastest speed trap time through Sulby at 192.3mph, with Anstey next quickest at 190.6mph.

Tyco BMW's Guy Martin was fourth fastest in the Superbike class, posting two laps on the S1000RR to set his best speed at 127.453mph to hold a narrow advantage over Honda's Conor Cummins in fifth (127.388mph).

Michael Rutter was next on the Penz13.com BMW with a lap of 127.268mph, while Gary Johnson slotted into seventh on the GBmoto Kawasaki.

Broughton man Johnson set a speed of 127.257mph from a standing start, only completing one lap on the ZX-10R before coming in to the pits.

James Hillier (Quattro Plant Kawasaki) lapped at 126.108mph, completing one lap on his Superbike, with Ulsterman Jamie Hamilton lapping at 125.572mph on the Cookstown/BE Suzuki.

Scotsman Keith Amor on the Rig Deluge BMW completed the top ten at 125.487mph.

Anstey also headed the Supersport leaderboard on the Valvoline Padgetts CBR600RR Honda at 125.218mph after two laps of the legendary course, with Guy Martin on the Smiths Triumph (123.082mph) and Gary Johnson on the Mar-Train Yamaha, who lapped at 121.678mph, second and third fastest respectively.

William Dunlop was next on the CD/IC Racing Yamaha at 121.651mph followed by Russ Mountford (Triumph) at 121.515mph and Michael Dunlop on his MD Racing Yamaha at 121.458mph.

Dunlop was significantly off the pace on his Milwaukee Yamaha Superbike, setting his best lap in 124.519mph after completing two laps on the all-new YZF-R1.

In the Superstock class, Aussie David Johnson was quickest on his BMW at 125.182mph to lead Michael Rutter (124.938mph) and John McGuinness on his EMC2 Honda, who lapped at 124.832mph.

Guy Martin (Tyco BMW) and James Hillier (Quattro Kawasaki) were next, lapping at 124.625mph and 124.466mph respectively.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Bruce Anstey at the Isle of Man TT
Bruce Anstey won the Lightweight race at the Classic TT on the Padgetts Honda RS250.
John McGuinness on the Winfield Paton at the Classic TT.
Bruce Anstey on the Padgetts RS250 Honda at the Classic TT.
Bruce Anstey on the Padgetts RS250 Honda at the Classic TT.
Ian Lougher, Dean Harrison and Lee Johnston in the winners` enclosure following the 2015 500cc Classic TT
Tyco BMW`s Ian Hutchinson
Bruce Anstey on the YZR500 Yamaha at the Classic TT.
Ian Hutchinson leads Michael Dunlop in the Superbike class at the Ulster Grand Prix.
Ian Hutchinson celebrates his four wins at the Ulster Grand Prix.
Senior TT race winner Michael Dunlop, runner-up Ian Hutchinson and John McGuinness
Sidecar crew Ian and Carl Bell
Bruce Anstey, William Dunlop and Daley Mathison were the top three in the SES TT Zero race.
Bruce Anstey won the SES TT Zero race on the Mugen.
Ian Hutchinson o the Team Traction Control Yamaha R6 at the Isle of Man TT.
Ian Hutchinson on the Team Traction Control Yamaha in the second Monster Energy Supersport race at the Isle of Man TT.
Ian Hutchinson on the Tyco BMW Superstock machine at the Isle of Man TT.
Ian Hutchinson on his Tyco BMW Superstock machine at the Isle of Man TT.

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.