RR »

TT 2015: Anstey fastest in final qualifying session

Bruce Anstey tops Superbike timesheets during final Isle of Man TT qualifying session for RST Superbike race.
Bruce Anstey headed the Superbike times on the Valvoline Padgetts Honda during the final qualifying session on Friday evening at the Isle of Man TT.

The Kiwi lapped at 129.394mph to set the pace ahead of Michael Dunlop, who completed his first laps on the Hawk Racing Buildbase BMW following his split from the Milwaukee Yamaha team, lapping at 128.636mph.

Tyco BMW's Guy Martin was third quickest on the BW at 127.861mph ahead of team-mate William Dunlop (126.907mph).

However, Bingley man Ian Hutchinson remains at the helm of the combined Superbike practice leaderboard after his 130.266mph lap on Thursday, with John McGuinness second fastest overall on the Honda Racing Fireblade (130.030mph) following his best speed of the week, also established in fine conditions on Thursday.

Anstey's best lap from Thursday put him third fastest on the combined times at 129.957mph ahead of William Dunlop (129.419mph) and Lincolnshire star Martin (128.963mph), with Michael Rutter sixth overall on the Superbike leaderboard on the Penz13.com Bathams BMW.

Dean Harrison topped the Superstock times on the Mar-Train Yamaha at 126.059mph, although Michael Dunlop's lap of 129.659mph on Thursday on the MD Racing BMW was by far the best lap of the week as the Ulsterman leads the way from Hutchinson (128.308mph) and Australia's David Johnson on the Smiths Racing BMW (127.470mph).

Hutchinson was quickest in the Supersport class on the TCC Yamaha with a speed of 124.927mph, which was enough for second overall on the leaderboard behind Anstey, who lapped at 125.218mph earlier in the week.

Ryan Farquhar remains the fastest Lightweight competitor following his lap on Thursday at 117.432mph on the SGS/KMR Kawasaki.

At the end of the evening a few of the Zero machines also had their first outing ahead of Wednesday's SES TT Zero with lap record holder John McGuinness showing the form that saw him triumph in last year's race, lapping at 113mph as his Mugen team-mate Bruce Anstey broke down.

The Victory Racing pair of William Dunlop and Lee Johnston both posted hugely impressive debut laps of 105.185mph and 104.185mph respectively.

The F2 Sidecars were first away on Friday and, as with previous sessions, the outfits left the line in numerical order with Dave Molyneux/Ben Binns, Conrad Harrison/Mike Aylott, Ben and Tom Birchall, Tim Reeves/Patrick Farrance and John Holden/Dan Sayle the first five crews to head towards Bray Hill.

Molyneux led the lap all the way round and was first across the line at 113.12mph with Harrison next quickest at 111.96mph.

Holden went to the top of the leaderboard with a speed of 113.22mph but pulled in immediately to make adjustments to his suspension. Reeves had a slow lap at 104.91mph but the Birchalls fared even worse at 90.65mph and clearly had problems.

Gary Bryan/Jamie Winn and Karl Bennett/Lee Cain posted almost identical times at 109.58mph and 109.55 mph respectively, the former reporting blustery winds over the Mountain.

Molyneux continued straight through for a second lap and went quickest at 114.687 mph, just a whisker outside Holden's fastest lap of the week set on Thursday.

Reeves, who was running in an engine in on his first lap, posted a speed of 113.3mph.

Holden failed to go quicker on his second lap but Knight continued for a third lap and improved again to 109.67mph.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Bruce Anstey on the Valvoline Padgetts Honda Superbike at the Isle of Man TT
Michael Dunlop on the Team Classic Suzuki XR69 during the Classic Superbike race at the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop on the Black Eagle MV Agusta at the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop on the Black Eagle MV Agusta at the Classic TT.
Bruce Anstey won the Lightweight race at the Classic TT on the Padgetts Honda RS250.
John McGuinness on the Winfield Paton at the Classic TT.
Bruce Anstey on the Padgetts RS250 Honda at the Classic TT.
Dean Harrison on the Silicone Engineering Kawasaki at the Classic TT.
Bruce Anstey on the Padgetts RS250 Honda at the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop on the Team Classic Suzuki XR69 at the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop on the Team Classic Suzuki XR69 during practice for the Classic TT.
Ian Lougher, Dean Harrison and Lee Johnston in the winners` enclosure following the 2015 500cc Classic TT
Tyco BMW`s Ian Hutchinson
Bruce Anstey on the YZR500 Yamaha at the Classic TT.
Ian Hutchinson leads Michael Dunlop in the Superbike class at the Ulster Grand Prix.
Ian Hutchinson celebrates his four wins at the Ulster Grand Prix.
Senior TT race winner Michael Dunlop, runner-up Ian Hutchinson and John McGuinness
Sidecar crew Ian and Carl Bell

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.