RR »

TT 2015: Lintin bags maiden win in Lightweight race

Ivan Lintin takes victory in a record-breaking Bennetts Lightweight race at the Isle of Man TT over James Hillier.
Ivan Lintin made up for the disappointment of his first lap retirement in 2014 by clinching his first Isle of Man TT victory in a record-breaking Bennetts Lightweight race.

The Lincolnshire rider moved into the lead from James Hillier on the first lap at Ramsey by one-and-a-half seconds and there was little between the pair throughout the three-lap race, although Lintin on the RC Express Kawasaki was never headed.

He posted an excellent opening lap of 119.078mph to go close to Hillier's lap record and went straight into the pits for the statutory pit stop, exiting with an increased lead of six seconds over the Bournemouth man.

There was huge disappointment for inaugural Lightweight TT winner Ryan Farquhar, who had moved into second place behind Lintin on lap one at Ramsey – one-and-a-half seconds down – after the Ulster rider received a 30-second penalty for speeding in pit lane.

The 39-year-old then retired at Cronk-y-Voddy on his second lap to compound his misery, while Gary Johnson was also a retirement on the WK Bikes CF Moto machine.

Jamie Hamilton was the new leader of the race on lap two at Glen Helen but it was only a temporary advantage, with the Northern Ireland rider opting to go straight through at the end of the first lap, leaving his pit stop until the end of lap two.

Despite Hamilton's false lead, Lintin had taken over again on corrected time at Ramsey by four seconds from Hillier, with Hamilton showing in third followed by Lee Johnston on the SGS/KMR Kawasaki.

On the completion of the second lap, Lintin's lead was 3.9 seconds over Hillier, with Johnston moving into third after Hamilton pulled in for his stop.

The Bardney rider's advantage was down to three seconds over Hillier at Ballaugh but he dug deep to stretch his lead to almost five seconds at Ramsey.

Michael Rutter on the Paton was now into third place, 28 seconds behind Hillier, after Johnston retired at Ballacraine.

Hillier shattered the lap record with a final lap of 120.848mph but the victory went to Lintin by 3.8 seconds, who also broke Hillier's old record and narrowly missed out on claiming the benchmark himself with a speed of 120.845mph.

Lintin, though, did set a new race record, bettering the previous best by a massive 38 seconds.

Rutter sealed the last podium place ahead of James Cowton with the top four all inside the old lap record.

Hamilton finished fifth on John Burrows' Kawasaki ahead of Dan Cooper, with Michael Russell and Mark Miller the top eight.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Ivan Lintin on the RC Express Kawasaki Supertwin
Michael Dunlop on the Team Classic Suzuki XR69 during the Classic Superbike race at the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop on the Black Eagle MV Agusta at the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop on the Black Eagle MV Agusta at the Classic TT.
Bruce Anstey won the Lightweight race at the Classic TT on the Padgetts Honda RS250.
John McGuinness on the Winfield Paton at the Classic TT.
Bruce Anstey on the Padgetts RS250 Honda at the Classic TT.
Dean Harrison on the Silicone Engineering Kawasaki at the Classic TT.
Bruce Anstey on the Padgetts RS250 Honda at the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop on the Team Classic Suzuki XR69 at the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop on the Team Classic Suzuki XR69 during practice for the Classic TT.
Ian Lougher, Dean Harrison and Lee Johnston in the winners` enclosure following the 2015 500cc Classic TT
Bruce Anstey on the YZR500 Yamaha at the Classic TT.
Senior TT race winner Michael Dunlop, runner-up Ian Hutchinson and John McGuinness
Michael Dunlop on the Hawk Racing BMW in the Senior TT.
Ivan Lintin won the Lightweight TT on the Devitt RC Express Kawasaki.
Bruce Anstey, William Dunlop and Daley Mathison were the top three in the SES TT Zero race.
Bruce Anstey won the SES TT Zero race on the Mugen.

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.