RR »

TT 2015: McGuinness dazzles in Senior stunner

John McGuinness blitzes rivals to win PokerStars Senior TT, sets new outright lap record of 132.701mph on his way to 23rd victory on Mountain Course.
John McGuinness reclaimed his Isle of Man TT throne in devastating style as he routed his rivals to win the showpiece PokerStars Senior TT.

It was McGuinness's 23rd Mountain Course victory as the Morecambe Missile equalled Mike Hailwood's record of seven wins in the prestigious Senior race, underlining his brilliance with a new outright lap record of 132.701mph despite slowing down for his pit stop.

The English rider destroyed the opposition to beat Quattro Plant Kawasaki's James Hillier by 14.2 seconds with third place going to Ian Hutchinson on the PBW Kawasaki.

The final race of the 2015 festival was red-flagged when Northern Ireland's Jamie Hamilton crashed near the 11th Milestone, suffering 'serious but non-life threatening injuries'.

The race was restarted over four laps and McGuinness was in irresistible form on the Honda Racing Fireblade, setting a new lap record for the Senior of 131.850mph from a standing start to power into a lead of 1.2 seconds over Hutchinson, with Hillier in third, 1.6 seconds behind Bruce Anstey on the Valvoline Padgetts Honda.

On lap two, McGuinness turned up the heat with a stunning outright lap record on an astonishing lap, stretching his lead to ten seconds over Hutchinson following the sole pit stop.

Tyco BMW's Guy Martin also breached the 132mph bracket on the second lap with a speed of 132.398mph as he made up ground to slot into fourth place behind Hutchinson and Hillier.

McGuinness, who had been below his best this week before claiming his first rostrum with a win in the TT Zero Challenge event, extended his advantage on the penultimate lap to 12 seconds as the battle raged behind him for the final places on the podium.

On the fourth and final lap, McGuinness pulled further clear on the Fireblade, holding a commanding lead of 20 seconds at Glen Helen.

Hutchinson lost ground when he ran on at Signpost corner and he began to fall into the clutches of Hillier, who wrestled second place away from the Bingley man with a final lap of 132.414mph to set his first ever lap in excess of 132mph.

McGuinness, though, closed out victory with another 131mph lap to huge cheers in the Grandstand with Hutchinson's bid for a four-timer falling at the final hurdle as the 35-year-old took third.

Tyco BMW's Guy Martin finished fourth ahead of Michael Dunlop in fifth on the Buildbase BMW and set his fastest ever TT lap on his final circuit at 132.515mph, with Conor Cummins completing the top six on the second of the Honda Racing machines.

Peter Hickman was an excellent seventh on the Briggs Equipment as he posted a sizzling lap of 131.626mph on his last lap, with Bruce Anstey in eighth on the Valvoline Padgetts Honda.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
John McGuinness
Michael Dunlop on the Team Classic Suzuki XR69 during the Classic Superbike race at the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop on the Black Eagle MV Agusta at the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop on the Black Eagle MV Agusta at the Classic TT.
Bruce Anstey won the Lightweight race at the Classic TT on the Padgetts Honda RS250.
John McGuinness on the Winfield Paton at the Classic TT.
Bruce Anstey on the Padgetts RS250 Honda at the Classic TT.
Dean Harrison on the Silicone Engineering Kawasaki at the Classic TT.
Bruce Anstey on the Padgetts RS250 Honda at the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop on the Team Classic Suzuki XR69 at the Classic TT.
Michael Dunlop on the Team Classic Suzuki XR69 during practice for the Classic TT.
Ian Lougher, Dean Harrison and Lee Johnston in the winners` enclosure following the 2015 500cc Classic TT
Tyco BMW`s Ian Hutchinson
Bruce Anstey on the YZR500 Yamaha at the Classic TT.
Ian Hutchinson leads Michael Dunlop in the Superbike class at the Ulster Grand Prix.
Ian Hutchinson celebrates his four wins at the Ulster Grand Prix.
Senior TT race winner Michael Dunlop, runner-up Ian Hutchinson and John McGuinness
Sidecar crew Ian and Carl Bell

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.


June 12, 2015 4:31 PM

Unbelievable, well done John, 23 TT wins & to take the senior TT & the lap record, is unreal. The old fireblade still able in the correct hands. Hutchy had a few problems but I still think John had it covered, sandbagging all week then BOOM!! The senior win. No one could of beat mcguinness today. Unstoppable!!! Well done.


June 12, 2015 4:31 PM
Last Edited 108 days ago

well done Mcpint!!!! Poetic justice in the fact that the "old" Mcpint and old girl Fireblade , of whom both have been under a fair bit of criticism on this site , especially the blade, have come back and handsomely beaten the young chargers on considerably newer machines. I'm still amazed he beat a red hot in form Hutchy! Well done again Mcpint, Legend!

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.