RR »

Ulster GP: Martin makes Superbike statement

Tyco BMW's Guy Martin has clinched pole position for the Superbike races at the Metzeler Ulster Grand Prix with a stunning 132mph lap.
Guy Martin snatched pole position in the Superbike class away from old rival Bruce Anstey in the closing moments of final qualifying with a sizzling lap of 132.234mph at the Metzeler Ulster Grand Prix.

Kiwi Anstey had hit the front after the session was re-started following a lengthy delay following a red-flag incident, with the rider involved transported to hospital. No further details are currently available.

However, it was Martin who timed his charge to perfection to assert his authority at the top of the times on the Tyco BMW by 0.269 seconds from Anstey on the Valvoline Padgetts Honda, who lapped at 132.057mph.

Martin had earlier secured pole in the Superstock class and will also start on the front row in the Supersport races on the Tyco Triumph 675 after qualifying third.

Ian Hutchinson continued his excellent run of form as the Bingley man sealed a front row start on the PBM Kawasaki with a speed of 131.967mph to set up a mouth-watering showdown in the Superbike races, the first of which is scheduled to take place later this evening as part of the Dundrod 150 support meeting.

On row two, Louth's Peter Hickman excelled on the Briggs Equipment BMW as last year's top newcomer lapped at 131.936mph, while Ulster riders Lee Johnston (East Coast/Burdens BMW) and Tyco BMW's William Dunlop finalised the top six places, with Dunlop 1.4 seconds behind pacesetter Martin.

Michael Dunlop had been languishing outside the top ten on the Buildbase BMW but gained a few places with his final laps to slot into seventh (130.757mph).

He is joined on the third row by Mar-Train Yamaha' Dean Harrison and Scotsman Keith Amor on the Rig Deluge BMW.

Manx riders Dan Kneen (Valvoline Padgetts Honda) and Conor Cummins (Honda Racing) are on row four along with RC Express Kawasaki's Ivan Lintin.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Guy Martin on the Tyco BMW at the Ulster Grand Prix
Bruce Anstey won the Lightweight race at the Classic TT on the Padgetts Honda RS250.
Bruce Anstey on the Padgetts RS250 Honda at the Classic TT.
Bruce Anstey on the Padgetts RS250 Honda at the Classic TT.
Ian Lougher, Dean Harrison and Lee Johnston in the winners` enclosure following the 2015 500cc Classic TT
Tyco BMW`s Ian Hutchinson
Bruce Anstey on the YZR500 Yamaha at the Classic TT.
Ian Hutchinson leads Michael Dunlop in the Superbike class at the Ulster Grand Prix.
Ian Hutchinson celebrates his four wins at the Ulster Grand Prix.
Senior TT race winner Michael Dunlop, runner-up Ian Hutchinson and John McGuinness
Sidecar crew Ian and Carl Bell
Bruce Anstey, William Dunlop and Daley Mathison were the top three in the SES TT Zero race.
Bruce Anstey won the SES TT Zero race on the Mugen.
Ian Hutchinson o the Team Traction Control Yamaha R6 at the Isle of Man TT.
Ian Hutchinson on the Team Traction Control Yamaha in the second Monster Energy Supersport race at the Isle of Man TT.
Ian Hutchinson on the Tyco BMW Superstock machine at the Isle of Man TT.
Ian Hutchinson on his Tyco BMW Superstock machine at the Isle of Man TT.
Ian Hutchinson on the Team Traction Control Yamaha at the Isle of Man TT.

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.