RR »

Classic TT: Harrison tops Friday's Formula 1 session

Dean Harrison lapped at 122.767mph on the Steelcote Solutions Kawasaki ZXR750 to take the top spot during Friday's Classic TT Formula 1 practice session from Michael Dunlop.
Dean Harrison threw his hat into the ring for Monday's Motorsport Merchandise Formula 1 Classic TT with a lap of 122.767mph on Thursday evening.

The Bradford rider, who missed the event last year through injury, set the fastest time on the Steelcote Solutions Kawasaki ZXR750 to head off Michael Dunlop on the Team Classic Suzuki XR69, who lapped at 121.491mph.

David Johnson was third quickest on the Team York Suzuki at 120.845mph ahead of 2014 winner Bruce Anstey on the Padgetts Racing YZR500 GP Yamaha (120.306mph).

Northern Ireland's Ryan Farquhar, quickest through the speed trap at Sulby at almost 174mph, was fourth on the Harris Yamaha (119.762mph) while fellow countryman Lee Johnston completed the top six, clocking 119.422mph on the Black Eagle Racing MV Agusta.

Ian Lougher set the pace on the 1990 LayLaw Racing TZ250 Yamaha in the Formula 2 class at 109.381mph.

In the 500cc session, Farquhar was fastest on the Winfield Paton (110.006mph) ahead of team-mate John McGuinness, who lapped at 109.090mph.

Welshman Lougher was third fastest with a lap of 108.043mph on the Giovanni Cabassi/Flitwick Motorcycles Paton with the top six completed by Dean Harrison on the Black Eagle MV Agusta (107.545mph) and Molnar Manx Norton riders Dan Cooper and Danny Webb, who lapped at 106.313mph and 105.619mph respectively.

Manxman Billy Redmayne was fastest in qualifying for the Senior Manx Grand Prix at 119.489mph while Malachi Mitchell-Thomas set the Junior MGP pace at 117.860mph.

The Classic TT gets underway with the Bennetts 500cc Race on Saturday at 2.30pm over four laps.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Dean Harrison on the Steelcote Solutions Kawasaki at the Classic TT
Bruce Anstey won the Lightweight race at the Classic TT on the Padgetts Honda RS250.
John McGuinness on the Winfield Paton at the Classic TT.
Bruce Anstey on the Padgetts RS250 Honda at the Classic TT.
Dean Harrison on the Silicone Engineering Kawasaki at the Classic TT.
Bruce Anstey on the Padgetts RS250 Honda at the Classic TT.
Ian Lougher, Dean Harrison and Lee Johnston in the winners` enclosure following the 2015 500cc Classic TT
Bruce Anstey on the YZR500 Yamaha at the Classic TT.
Ian Hutchinson leads Michael Dunlop in the Superbike class at the Ulster Grand Prix.
Ian Hutchinson celebrates his four wins at the Ulster Grand Prix.
Senior TT race winner Michael Dunlop, runner-up Ian Hutchinson and John McGuinness
Bruce Anstey, William Dunlop and Daley Mathison were the top three in the SES TT Zero race.
Bruce Anstey won the SES TT Zero race on the Mugen.
John McGuinness on the Honda Racing Fireblade at Ballacrye
John McGuinness on the Honda Racing Superbike during Isle of Man TT practice.
Dean Harrison on the Silicone Engineering Kawasaki
Bruce Anstey on the Honda RC213V-S during practice for the Isle of Man TT.
A unique collection of machines raced by John McGuinness at the Isle of Man TT will be on display in 2016 to mark his 20th anniversary of racing at the event.

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.