RR »

Macau GP: Jessopp on top from McGuinness

Yeovil's Martin Jessopp puts in a late flying lap to take control in the first free practice session at the Macau Grand Prix from Isle of Man TT legend John McGuinness.
Martin Jessopp left it late to snatch the top spot during opening qualifying for the 49th Suncity Group Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix.

The Riders Motorcycles BMW challenger knocked former winner John McGuinness (Honda Racing) off the top spot at the end of the first session to assume control at the head of the times by only 0.051 seconds.

Michael Rutter, the most successful ever rider at Macau with eight wins, was third fastest on the Penz13.com BMW, just over a tenth of a second behind Jessopp, with Austrian Horst Saiger right in the mix on his Kawasaki in fourth.

Yorkshireman Ian Hutchinson also clocked a late fast lap on the PBM Kawasaki to climb to fifth ahead of Louth's Peter Hickman (Briggs BMW), who only made his debut at the Guia street course in 2014.

Northern Ireland's Lee Johnston, who will remain with Phil Reed's East Coast Racing team for 2016, was next on his BMW S1000RR Superbike as he completed the top seven, followed by Gary Johnson (Penz13.com BMW) and Aussie David Johnson on the Ice Valley BMW.

Last year's winner Stuart Easton was only 10th as the Scot gets to grips with the SMT Yamaha R1 for the first time, with Isle of Man rider Conor Cummins on the second of the official Honda Racing Fireblades in 11th position after FP1.

Ireland's Steve Heneghan, Didier Grams and Jimmy Storrar from Scotland rounded out the top 14.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Martin Jessopp on the Riders Motorcycles BMW at the Macau Grand Prix.
Ian Hutchinson celebrates his Superstock victory.
Ian Hutchinson on his way to victory in the Superstock TT on the Tyco BMW.
Ian Hutchinson celebrates his victory in the RST Superbike race at the Isle of Man TT.
Ian Hutchinson on the Tyco BMW in the RST Superbike race.
Ian Hutchinson on the Tyco BMW during practice for the Isle of Man TT.
Ian Hutchinson on the Tyco BMW during practice for the Isle of Man TT.
Ian Hutchinson
Tyco BMW rider Ian Hutchinson
Alastair Seeley leads his Tyco BMW team-mate Ian Hutchinson in the Superbike race at the North West 200.
Honda Racing riders John McGuinness and Guy Martin
John McGuinness on the Jackson Racing Honda.
Guy Martin, John McGuinness Honda Racing, [Credit: Honda Racing]
Michael Rutter and John McGuinness during the pre-event press conference ahead of the 50th Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix.
John McGuinness on the Winfield Paton at the Classic TT.
Ian Lougher, Dean Harrison and Lee Johnston in the winners` enclosure following the 2015 500cc Classic TT
Tyco BMW`s Ian Hutchinson
Ian Hutchinson leads Michael Dunlop in the Superbike class at the Ulster Grand Prix.

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.