RR »

Macau GP: Hickman claims sensational victory

Louth's Peter Hickman wins the Macau Grand Prix in only his second appearance at the event from Martin Jessopp and Michael Rutter in BMW 1-2-3.
Peter Hickman has sensationally won the 49th Suncity Group Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix in only his second year as the prestigious event in South China.

The Louth rider, third fastest in qualifying on the Briggs Equipment BMW, relentlessly hunted down pole man Martin Jessopp, who had led the way on his Riders Motorcycles BMW, before making his move in the closing stages on the brakes Lisboa.

Hickman was on a charge and within half a lap had opened a cushion of one second over Jessopp, which he extended to a commanding margin of six seconds at the finish.

Eight-time winner Michael Rutter completed the podium places in third on the Penz13.com BMW to seal a clean sweep of the rostrum for the S1000RR, 15.6 seconds down on the winner.

Jessopp lived up to his form from practice and qualifying as the Somerset rider made a flying start to the 12-lap race, quickly taking the lead from Rutter and opening a gap of more than two seconds at the front over Hickman.

On the opening laps, Jessopp was stretching his advantage and the early signs were that the British Superbike regular was set to dominate.

However, Jessopp's lead stabilised at around 2.4 seconds and Hickman began to reel in his fellow BMW rider, putting together a series of fast laps to reduce the deficit to only one second.

Clearly the fastest man on track, Hickman hauled himself onto Jessopp's rear wheel and the inevitable pass soon followed as he assumed control for the first time at Lisboa with four laps left.

Jessopp had no response as Hickman disappeared into the distance, breezing away and closing out his maiden victory at Macau by more than six seconds.

It was Hicky's second big international road racing success of 2015 after he won the second Superbike race in damp conditions at the Ulster Grand Prix at Dundrod.

The 28-year-old failed to compete in last year's race after crashing out of opening qualifying but made amends around the 3.8-mile Guia street course in perfect style.

Yorkshireman Ian Hutchinson had trailed the front pair by 13 seconds on the PBM Kawasaki in third but fell backwards towards the end of the race, with Lincolnshire's Gary Johnson (Penz13.com BMW) and Rutter charging past the Bingley Bullet as they disputed the final place on the podium.

It was Rutter who prevailed, while Honda Racing's John McGuinness put a stunning pass on Johnson on the final lap, riding around his outside, to snatch a solid fourth, as he finished two seconds behind Rutter.

Hutchinson was bumped down to sixth, with the 2013 winner crossing the line 19.2 seconds behind Hickman, with Conor Cummins on the second of the Honda Racing machines and Austrian Horst Saiger (Kawasaki) completing the top eight.

Northern Ireland's Lee Johnston was down in ninth place on the East Coast Racing BMW with David Johnson on the Ice Valley BMW finalising the top ten.

Dan Cooper (Space Centre Honda) and Jimmy Storrar (PBM Kawasaki) were next ahead of American Mark Miller on the Splitlath EBR, with the top 15 completed by Steve Heneghan (Yamaha) and Allan-Jon Venter (Honda), followed by Ireland's Brian McCormack (Tag Honda) in 16th.

Scotsman Stuart Easton, who dominated the race in 2014, was a retirement on the SMT Yamaha R1 with a technical problem.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Peter Hickman on the Briggs BMW at the Macau Grand Prix.
Guy Martin on the Honda Fireblade at the Isle of Man TT.
Dean Harrison, Dan Kneen and Michael Dunlop at the Southern 100.
Derek Sheils in action at the Walderstown road races.
Michael Dunlop at the Classic TT
Derek Sheils on the Cookstown B.E. Racing Suzuki at the Skerries 100.
Dean Harrison on the Silicone Engineering Kawasaki in the Senior TT.
Peter Hickman in the Senior TT on the Smiths BMW.
Michael Dunlop on the Bennetts Suzuki in the Senior TT.
Bruce Anstey on his way to victory in the TT Zero race.
Guy Martin on the Honda Racing Superbike.
Alan Bonner was killed in an incident at the 33rd Milestone.
Jochem van den Hoek.
Michael Rutter took victory in the Lightweight TT on the Italian Paton.
Dan Kneen celebrates with his team after sealing his maiden Isle of Man TT rostrum in the Superstock race.
Ian Hutchinson celebrates his Superstock victory.
Ian Hutchinson on his way to victory in the Superstock TT on the Tyco BMW.
Davey Lambert in the RST Superbike race.

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.