RR »

Road Racer of the Year 2015 - 10th: Alastair Seeley

You place Alastair Seeley tenth in our Road Racer of the Year poll...
10th – Alastair Seeley
Average poll score out of ten: 5.4
Team: Tyco BMW
NW200 wins: 3
Podiums: 1
Isle of Man TT wins: N/A
Podiums: N/A
Ulster Grand Prix wins: N/A
Podiums: N/A
Macau Grand Prix: N/A

Northern Ireland's Alastair Seeley placed 10th in the 2015 Crash.net Road Racer of the Year poll after another stellar performance at the North West 200 in May.

The former British Superstock 1000 and Supersport champion restricts his road racing exploits solely to the famous international meeting on the north coast of Ireland and sealed his place in the history of the 86-year-old event after matching Ulster legend Robert Dunlop's all-time record of 15 victories around the famous 8.9-mile seaside course.

Seeley began the week in style as he won the first Supersport race on the Thursday of practice week to draw level with Joey Dunlop and Michael Rutter on the all-time winners' list, who claimed 13 wins apiece.

The 36-year-old claimed the spoils in the sole Superbike race on the Tyco BMW after beating Ian Hutchinson and Bruce Anstey and completed a brilliant hat-trick by taking the honours in the second Supersport race following a dramatic battle with newcomer Glenn Irwin and Lee Johnston.

Seeley was denied the chance of surpassing Robert Dunlop's record haul when the organisers cancelled the feature Superbike race, citing high winds.

However, the Carrick man will return in 2016 as a red-hot favourite to become the most successful North West 200 rider ever, with Seeley requiring one more victory to take over the mantle from Dunlop.

The 'Wee Wizard' has parted company from Northern Ireland's TAS Racing team but looks set to be BMW-mounted in 2016, when Seeley is expected to join Lee Hardy's RAF Reserves team to compete in the MCE British Superbike Championship plus the North West 200.

Do you agree with the poll results? If not, why not? Leave your comments below...

About the vote:
Thousands of votes were cast for the 2015 Crash.net Road Racer of the Year poll, where viewers awarded a shortlist of this season's most impressive riders with a mark out of ten.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Alastair Seeley on the Tyco BMW at the North West 200
Guy Martin on the Honda Fireblade at the Isle of Man TT.
Dean Harrison, Dan Kneen and Michael Dunlop at the Southern 100.
Derek Sheils in action at the Walderstown road races.
Michael Dunlop at the Classic TT
Derek Sheils on the Cookstown B.E. Racing Suzuki at the Skerries 100.
Dean Harrison on the Silicone Engineering Kawasaki in the Senior TT.
Peter Hickman in the Senior TT on the Smiths BMW.
Michael Dunlop on the Bennetts Suzuki in the Senior TT.
Bruce Anstey on his way to victory in the TT Zero race.
Guy Martin on the Honda Racing Superbike.
Alan Bonner was killed in an incident at the 33rd Milestone.
Jochem van den Hoek.
Michael Rutter took victory in the Lightweight TT on the Italian Paton.
Dan Kneen celebrates with his team after sealing his maiden Isle of Man TT rostrum in the Superstock race.
Ian Hutchinson celebrates his Superstock victory.
Ian Hutchinson on his way to victory in the Superstock TT on the Tyco BMW.
Davey Lambert in the RST Superbike race.

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.